Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I need some serious help ASAP!! Any help would be greatly appreciated i have been trying everything i can think of and have had no luck so far. I have no virus/malware (malwarebites) that i can find. All of the firewall's i know of are off and all antivirus software.

I Have a desktop computer with Windows XP Pro. I have Cable internet and I am connected through a modem > router > computer.

I will copy & paste (from flash drive) onto here the following commands as i have seen numerous requests for this information on other inquiry's that i have read.


IPCONFIG /ALL

PING <computer_IP_address>

PING <default_gateway_address>

PING <dns_servers>

PING 74.125.45.100

PING yahoo.com

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : BRIAN
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
rnet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 25-05-25-05-25-02
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.3
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 7:11:03 PM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 18, 2038 11:14:07 PM


Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys Wireless-G USB Network Adapt
er with SpeedBooster
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-12-17-A6-6F-11

C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>ping 192.168.2.3

Pinging 192.168.2.3 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.2.3: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.2.3: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.2.3: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.2.3: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.2.3:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>192.168.2.1
'192.168.2.1' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>192.168.2.1
'192.168.2.1' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>Ping 74.125.45.100

Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>Ping yahoo.com
Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>


Thanks again for any help anyone can give me with this ongoing problem
-Burrock
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,370 Posts
it looks like you have a good connection to the router - so something is blocking access to the internet

do you have a firewall on the system OR ever had in the PAST something like Norton, Mcafee etc

try in safemode with networking
as the PC starts keep tapping F8 a menu appears choose safemode with networking see if that will connect now

also try a TCP/IP reset


------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.

Post back the results here
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

·
TSF Enthusiast
Joined
·
905 Posts
Hi,

What is the status of the internet light on your router? Has this setup been working before or is it a new install?

Does the internet work if you connect directly to the modem?

Maz
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks so much for the reply!

So I tried it in safe mode after i posted that seeing a lot of people suggest that and i can't connect still. I am resetting the tcpip settings now. The router is fine, its all connected with correct passwords & 100% connection.

And the other question, no i do not get internet connected directly to the modem on that comp. On the laptop (the one im replying on) is fine with both wired/wireless connections. I am higlhy sure its not a problem with the internet or router/modem.

Here are the reseults to the ip config:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>netsh int ip reset reset.log

C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>netsh winsock reset catalog
Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
You must restart the machine in order to complete the reset.

C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yes it was safe mode with networking directly connected to modem. Still got nothing. I have had avg and McAfee, comodo is what I'm using now on that machine, but I turned off my virus software n Windows firewall b4 attempting to connect every time.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,370 Posts
I would uninstall avg and mcafee and comodo and start with just one firewall - try without first and see if you get connected - use the removal tools, as even using add/remove programs can still leave parts of the program on and cause issues - norton is the worse offender - I would also reboot and run the removal tools a 2nd time

AVG Removal Tools
AVG - Download tools

Mcafee RemovalTool
How to uninstall or reinstall supported McAfee consumer products using the McAfee Consumer Products Removal tool (MCPR.exe)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I used the McAfee and AVG uninstallers twice as requested. I saved the log files if you need to see them. McAfee seemed to remove a lot of files. AVG didn't look like it could find many of the files.

Also is there a clean up program for COMODO? When i reboot a bubble comes up that says comodo is turned off, It looks completely deleted but i don't know for sure.

Should I run malwarebites again? it didn't find a single thing wrong last time..

This is starting to get frustrating for me but I really do appreciate your helping me fix this.

Thanks again guys,
Burrock
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
UPDATE:

So after the tinkering I also found a clean up for comodo as well. So i do believe that i am officially av free.

Connecting via the modem directly now I have "limited or no connectivity" to the internet... I reset and rebooted both modem and pc but have had no luck. Also same problem when I start in safe w/ ntwking....

I reset all tcpip settings again and rebooted but have nothing still, I don't know what to do next?

Here's my ipconfig again

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : BRIAN
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
rnet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 25-05-25-05-25-02
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.108.159
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>ping 25-05-25-05-25-2
Ping request could not find host 25-05-25-05-25-2. Please check the name and try
again.

C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>ping 169.254.108.159

Pinging 169.254.108.159 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 169.254.108.159: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 169.254.108.159: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 169.254.108.159: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 169.254.108.159: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 169.254.108.159:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>ping yahoo.com
Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>

Thanks again
-B
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
UPDATE:

So after the tinkering I also found a clean up for comodo as well. So i do believe that i am officially av free.

Connecting via the modem directly now I have "limited or no connectivity" to the internet... I reset and rebooted both modem and pc but have had no luck. Also same problem when I start in safe w/ ntwking....

I reset all tcpip settings again and rebooted but have nothing still, I don't know what to do next?

Here's my ipconfig again

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : BRIAN
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
rnet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 25-05-25-05-25-02
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.108.159
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>ping 25-05-25-05-25-2
Ping request could not find host 25-05-25-05-25-2. Please check the name and try
again.

C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>ping 169.254.108.159

Pinging 169.254.108.159 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 169.254.108.159: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 169.254.108.159: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 169.254.108.159: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 169.254.108.159: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 169.254.108.159:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>ping yahoo.com
Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


C:\Documents and Settings\Angel>

Thanks again
-B
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,370 Posts
lets see the services that are running


------------------------------------------------------------------------
Services
Shamelessly stolen from a John Will Post :)
post back the status - started/stopped and automatic/manual
Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
  • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
  • Computer Browser
  • DHCP Client
  • DNS Client
  • Network Connections
  • Network Location Awareness
  • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
  • Server
  • TCP/IP Netbios helper
  • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
  • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
  • Workstation

Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running.

Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
Start > control panel > administrative tools > event Viewer

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Error Im getting now:

Limited or no connectivity
You might not be able to access the internet of some network resources.
This problem occurred because the network did not assign a network address to the computer.

Details button:
Phys address : 20-05-25-05-25-02
Ip address:169.254.108.159
Subnet Mask: 255.255.0.0
Def Gateway - -
DNS - -
Wins Server - -
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,370 Posts
169.254.x.x is supplied by windows when it cannot find a dhcp service

can you post the two status conditions of all the service listed in previous post
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
I think this is what you want me to do lol

COM+ Event System (for WZC issues) - started/manual
Computer Browser - started / auto
DHCP Client - started / auto
DNS Client - started/auto
Network Connections - started manual
Network Location Awareness - started/manual
Remote Procedure Call (RPC) started auto
Server - started auto
TCP/IP Netbios helper - started auto
Wireless Zero Configuration ( XP wireless configurations only) - started auto
WLAN AutoConfig ( Vista wireless configurations only) - NA
Workstation - started auto
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,370 Posts
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top