Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!

Allow me to introduce myself: Of course my "name" is Gandalf The White. My profession is Tech Support Rep, and I've come across quite a bit of a pickadilly tonight that required me to look for some fresh ideas, so here I am.

Now, here's the spiel:

I've now had 2 customers in different locations (one in Vancouver, the other in Toronto) who cannot send attachments with their e-mails.

The first case has Windows 2000 Pro installed and has updated to Service Pack 4. She has a dial-up connection and is using Outlook 2000 for her e-mail. The second case has Windows ME and is using Eudora for his e-mail. For both of them I attempted to move them to another e-mail client, namely Outlook Express 6. No dice. Rip and re-insalling TCP/IP in both cases did squat. Deleting and recreating the dialer, nada!

Check dial-up settings, remove the error control and compression, lowered the FIFO buffers, lowered the max speed. Same problem. Checked the internet options, no proxy settings, deleted cookies, temp files, you name it... Cannot send attachment. E-mail with only text? goes through like a charm.

So I thought why not bypass the e-mail clients and go with the ISP's webmail service: same thing!!

I've done everything short of having them spread incense all over their PC's and pray to the mighty CPU Gods to allow their attachments to go through.

I'm hoping someone here can give me some fresh ideas because frankly, I'm all out.

Appreciate any help you guys and gals can give me. :D

·
TSF Enthusiast
6,298 Posts
What exactly happens when they try to attatch files to an email?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It gets one third of the way through and then just hangs. After a few minutes (depending on how long they've set the wait period in their mail app), they get a "Server timed out" error message...