Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gud day to all readers,

I want to configure my Lan connection, but i cannot see LAN Properties so that i can change my IP address. All i can see is the INTERNET Connection.. Can anyone guide me on how to do this.. thanks

Jerald
 

·
Global Moderator
Electronic Design
Joined
·
52,026 Posts
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

Please respond to all the following steps.

  1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
  2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
  3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?


Let's see this as well.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
As requested sir, here is the result:



Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\jerald>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Server
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Internet:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010 PCI
Gigabit Ethernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-92-73-C0-D4
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::21a:92ff:fe73:c0d4%4
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, June 11, 2008 9:06:13 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, June 12, 2008 9:06:13 AM

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%5
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-01-03
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.3%2
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Documents and Settings\jerald>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Sir,

I have two network adapter, one is for my internet connection and one for my LAN Connection,. That is my problem sir, the 2nd network adapter is also functioning well when i look it into device manager.. but i can't still make LAN connection.. I tried to make new connection on the network set-up wizard but i can't see the LAN connection in the properties of MY NETWORK PLACES. I think their is a problem..
 

·
Global Moderator
Electronic Design
Joined
·
52,026 Posts
What EXACTLY do you see in Device Manager? Let's see a screen shot of the Network adapters section.

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to TSG, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
 

·
Global Moderator
Electronic Design
Joined
·
52,026 Posts
Interesting, Windows doesn't seem to see the Realtek at all. :4-dontkno

Try this stack repair, though I'm not sure it'll help. After that, post another IPCONFIG /ALL display.

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Sir i did what you have told me.. I receive this following statemet upon entering netsh int ip reset.log , "The following command was not found: int ip reset.log.. But the next command was succesfully done..

Jerald
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top