Tech Support banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so i have bought the power supply, and now i need to buy some more ram. i have 4 slots i think, and right now i have 2 more slots open. first, can i only buy 2 more of 256 or can i buy other types too?
do i need to buy my specific type? i think i have DDR2 SDRAM at 400 mhz?
so what can i buy, and from where?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
oh i forgot, i've posted them somewhere already.
i have a dell dimension 4700
2*256 ram
radeonx850xt graphics card i think
305 power supply, but i am getting the 430 antec trio
pentium 4 processor
this is all i remember from the top of my had. if you really need specific details i could probably fin them
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,828 Posts
What I was specifically wondering about was the RAM. Use Everest, go into Motherboard > SPD and post the info you see there. It is probably a lot, you can create a report of that section to quickly copy the info.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
the spd stuff
--------[ SPD ]---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[ DIMM1: Infineon 64T32000HU5A ]

Memory Module Properties:
Module Name Infineon 64T32000HU5A
Serial Number 05126217h
Manufacture Date Week 20 / 2005
Module Size 256 MB (1 rank, 4 banks)
Module Type Unbuffered
Memory Type DDR2 SDRAM
Memory Speed DDR2-400 (200 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Module Voltage SSTL 1.8
Error Detection Method None
Refresh Rate Reduced (7.8 us), Self-Refresh

Memory Timings:
@ 200 MHz 5.0-3-3-8 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
@ 200 MHz 4.0-3-3-8 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
@ 200 MHz 3.0-3-3-8 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)

Memory Module Features:
Early RAS# Precharge Supported
Auto-Precharge Not Supported
Precharge All Not Supported
Write1/Read Burst Not Supported
Buffered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
Registered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
On-Card PLL (Clock) Not Supported
Buffered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
Registered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
Differential Clock Input Not Supported
Redundant Row Address Not Supported

Memory Module Manufacturer:
Company Name Infineon Technologies AG
Product Information http://www.infineon.com/cgi-bin/ifx/portal/ep/home.do?tabId=1

[ DIMM3: Infineon 64T32000HU5A ]

Memory Module Properties:
Module Name Infineon 64T32000HU5A
Serial Number 05125C10h
Manufacture Date Week 20 / 2005
Module Size 256 MB (1 rank, 4 banks)
Module Type Unbuffered
Memory Type DDR2 SDRAM
Memory Speed DDR2-400 (200 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Module Voltage SSTL 1.8
Error Detection Method None
Refresh Rate Reduced (7.8 us), Self-Refresh

Memory Timings:
@ 200 MHz 5.0-3-3-8 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
@ 200 MHz 4.0-3-3-8 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
@ 200 MHz 3.0-3-3-8 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)

Memory Module Features:
Early RAS# Precharge Supported
Auto-Precharge Not Supported
Precharge All Not Supported
Write1/Read Burst Not Supported
Buffered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
Registered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
On-Card PLL (Clock) Not Supported
Buffered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
Registered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
Differential Clock Input Not Supported
Redundant Row Address Not Supported

Memory Module Manufacturer:
Company Name Infineon Technologies AG
Product Information http://www.infineon.com/cgi-bin/ifx/portal/ep/home.do?tabId=1
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
and the motherboard page
--------[ Motherboard ]-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Motherboard Properties:
Motherboard ID <DMI>
Motherboard Name Dell Dimension 4700

Front Side Bus Properties:
Bus Type Intel NetBurst
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 200 MHz (QDR)
Effective Clock 800 MHz
Bandwidth 6400 MB/s

Memory Bus Properties:
Bus Type Dual DDR2 SDRAM
Bus Width 128-bit
Real Clock 200 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 400 MHz
Bandwidth 6400 MB/s

Chipset Bus Properties:
Bus Type Intel Direct Media Interface

Motherboard Manufacturer:
Company Name Dell Computer Corporation
Product Information http://www.dell.com
BIOS Download http://support.dell.com
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,828 Posts
Get a pair of RAM, but if they are in a different channel than the current RAM, then they don't have to be the same as the current RAM. Some motherboards can be picky about that and insist on having all the same RAM, that is why you might as well get the 2 x 512 MB sticks, since they are only a little more, and if they work with the current sticks, then you get 1.5 GB of RAM.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,828 Posts
Those RAM sticks were verified as compatible the manufacturer. The only reason they wouldn't work (other than if you get the unlucky DOA stick) is if there is compatibility with the existing RAM, which is why I suggested getting the 512 MB sticks, because they are only a little more.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
wait, are you saying to take out the current ones and put in 512, because my question was if there would be any problems with the 2 512 sticks and my current 2 256 sticks if they are different models
 

·
Roaming To Help
Joined
·
5,667 Posts
You may have problems running 2x256 and 2x512 together and I think thats why Matt is suggesting for you to buy the 2x512 matched pair because it will definitely run (unless defective) giving you 1Gb at least. Then try your 2x256 in aswell and if they also work altogether then you'll have 1.5GB; which I think is a solid amount of RAM to have for most needs in XP.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,828 Posts
Thanks Kalim. The key word is may, you aren't guaranteed to have two different RAM brands work, but it is definitely a possibility.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
so you are suggesting, to take out the current ram, put in the new ram, and if it works put in the old ram
 
1 - 20 of 26 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top