Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here,
but I think I figured something out.
Maybe this is old news, if so, I certainly couldn't find it yesterday when I needed it.
Some anti-virus, anti-spyware programs can remove System Restore Points. Found that out the hard way!
After reading up on missing System Restore Points, it seems that Spybot S&D is being blamed for instability. Well, I installed AVG free Anti Virus today, and the same thing happened. It may happen with any anti-spyware, anti-virus
program (I think, if it's doing it's job).
If you think about it.....if the infection has been there imbedded in memory, and not detected, it will be on all available Restore Points, right? Once you load a AV Program that detects AND removes the infected file, the file is no longer available....so there may not be a System Restore file anymore.
Does this make any sense....or am I way off????
BTW, I did manage to get rid of WinFixer, for today anyway. Ran free AVG twice. Downloaded new Ad-Aware defs (now recognizes virtumondo). Had to run Ad-Aware twice. Infection has been gone for about 12 hours now, nice break. It may be back tomorrow....but I've enjoyed the last 12 hours!
FYI......before running anti-spyware, anti-virus programs, create a back-up disk! Although.....you might be backing up the infection too.... !!!

·
Registered
1,097 Posts
Firinne said:
Newbie here,
but I think I figured something out.
Maybe this is old news, if so, I certainly couldn't find it yesterday when I needed it.
Some anti-virus, anti-spyware programs can remove System Restore Points. Found that out the hard way![
Yes, this is old news, however, it is always good to know about this.

Firinne said: