Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I dont know how long Ive been using PCs...I just never got around to better securing my network. That said, I have a few questions that need answered.

What kind of things are there that could help secure my network?

I am hesitent to using a firewall...the last time I installed Zonealarm, I had to call my ISP for help (OOPS). I really dont know how to use them, and if its really worth the hassle to get one. If it is, what specific firewall program would be sufficiant?

I also find my connection extremely slow...and Im beginning to wonder if its really my ISP doing work...So I was thinking of some tools, perhaps some sort of bandwidth monitor/something similer? And maybe some other tools to help determine what my connection is actually doing.

Since I am a bit of a newbie at networking/security, Im just wondering what programs might be usefull, and perhaps some basic steps/ideas on where to start. I would appreciate any alternatives for programs you have to pay for.

Thanks,
Carter

·
Registered
722 Posts
It is important to have a decent firewall [which windows firewall isn't] This one is simple to use and free.. Sygate Personal.
Also this antispyware program from Microsoft is free.. M$AntiSpyware. I've been using it for 4-5 months and its been ok.
Hopefully you will already have an Anti-Virus program installed; if not there are several free ones available at the same site.

·
Citizen of the world
51,047 Posts
You need at least a basic firewall, a good AV scanner, and some spyware protection. FWIW, I've been using only the hardware firewall of my router for years, and I've never allowed any infections to sneak through. Your use of the Internet will dictate how careful you need to be as far as the firewall is concerned.

The AV is important, especially for mail, since that's still a pretty common way to attempt to infect you.

·
Registered