Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

I have big problems with installing win2000 server & ati manli radeon 9100 card on VIA Apollo KT333 chipset & QDI KuDoz 7E/333x motherboard.

Stable situation:
win2000 server + no service packs + bundled ati drivers

Unstable situation:
win2000 server + (SP3 or SP4) + (ati drivers - bundled, latest from Manli site, latest Catalyst from ATI site)

Unstable simptoms:
Immidiatelly after login, computer locks (not realy, but it works with speed of XT), so I have to wait 15 minutes to get desktop displayed. In this 15 minutes almost all services timeout. Many of applications don't work at all (note: the computer is f***n slooow!).
The processor load is at 0% so there is nothing occupying it.

Computer is brand new AMD 2400+, 512RAM, ... and works perfectly without SPs.

I tried:
All combinations: ati drivers first then SP, SP first then ati drivers, ... different version combinations...

Different settings in BIOS. AGP driving value, video shadowing, caching, ...

Drivers for different ATI cards... and bingo! It worked! It worked with drivers for radeon 8500.
Then I decided to fresh install again, selected radeon 8500, installed SP4 and ****! No go! Same simptoms.

For the this last installation of win2000 I loaded Optimized Defaults in BIOS, becouse CD drives didn't work (they couldn't read from disc and installation it self was sloooooow).

Now, I don't remember correct values I set in BIOS, neither I'm shure which drivers of 8500 I used.

Maybe u guys have some idea what else should I do...

Please, please, ....

Tomi
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I just did it again.

1. server install
2. bundled VIA drivers 4in1
3. bundled ATI drivers

switched off all unnecesary devices (com, lpt) to free IRQs

4. latest ATI drivers from Manli (v. 6.14.1.6307)
5. latest VIA drivers 4in1 (v. 4.48)
6. SP4

same result.

Do you think it will make a difference to first install VIA drivers (step 5) and then ATI drivers (step 4)?

First 3 steps are backed up so I can quickly restore. (and I restored it at least 20 times ;()

I will try now with latest Catalyst from ATI. (but I think there will be no difference).

I have installed directX9.0 which came bundled with ATI card. Do you think the last version from Microsoft (9.0b) will make any difference?

T.
 
S

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
How much trouble would it be to do the following..........;)

Windows 2000 Server

SP4

Bundled ATI drivers

I got to check out the ATI site................:D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I did that the first time.

1. server
2. all updates from winupdate (incl. SP4)
3. bundled drivers

no go. :dead:

That's advice from ATI?

T.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Yes, unfortunately I did. :|

I just tried to install catalyst 3.6 over existing drivers again. No go.

On microsoft site I found that following cards should be compatible with win2000:
Radeon 9100 149
Radeon 9100 168

What do you thing the second numbers are?

I got my computer allready assambled. I don't know what kind of package was.

T.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I will try those drivers tonight and tell you if there's a GO. :tongue2:

There are some advices that I should force IRQ 10 or 11 to be bound to ATI card. How the hell can I do that?

The main problem is that I can't (shouldn't) open my computer and play with cards or I will loose my warranty.

win2000 is running in ACPI mode and it allways assigns IRQ different than 10 or 11 to ATI and it is allways shared with other devices. Even now, when I turned off all not needed devices such COM, LPT, SOUND, etc.
In current configuration ATI has IRQ 5 while IRQ 11 is not used at all!

Do you have any suggestion on that?

Thnx,

T.
 
S

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
If you look in the bios is "plug and Play Operating System" installed set to yes?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
And I found a solution to my problem :).

And It was so simple and took me only 10 mins. I replaced ATI card. :)

Now everything works like it should.

Thanks guys anyway,

Tomi
 
S

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Thanks for letting us know and we're glad you found a solution to your problem...........:D
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top