Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm looking to build a low end Win XP server for my SOHO and I'd like to have RAID 1. This is my first time adding RAID and I was wondering if anyone knew of any good resources to use for installation info and troubleshooting.

My first major question is, if the ASUS P4P800 mobo I'm going to use has RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 0+1, JBOD integrated with a VIA6410 RAID controller, do I still need a PCI controller card?

Thanks in advance for any help.

John

·
Guru
1,315 Posts
OK, no takers so I'll have a go.

I'm looking to build a low end Win XP server for my SOHO and I'd like to have RAID 1.
Not sure this mobo would make the greatest server platform. The CPU speed isn't low-end but for storage connectivity and speed IMO it is low end, one might even say lacking. I'm thinking something with more independent PCI busses, I think maybe the Grand Champion chipset on the Tyan Trinity GC-SL? This has 3 independent PCI-X channels, "independent" being the key word here.

But you did say low end, which PCI-X is not. All the other mobos I know of today have one PCI bus for the whole box.

This is my first time adding RAID and I was wondering if anyone knew of any good resources to use for installation info and troubleshooting.
The mobo install CD will contain all the manuals you need, though they are sometimes sketchy. There has been a lot of recent discussion on this forum, so that's another place to fill in the missing blanks. Not sure anyone around here is running RAID1 by itself yet, though.

My first major question is, if the ASUS P4P800 mobo I'm going to use has RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 0+1, JBOD integrated with a VIA6410 RAID controller, do I still need a PCI controller card?