Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am new at it.....

I just bought

Asus p4c800e
inter cpu 2.6 w hyper threading
samsung Ram 512 mb 400
maxtor sata 120G hard drive
asus vedio card 128 MB ddr

the motherboard posts fine. the hard drive is connected to the SATA0 on the motherboard using the red cable supplied with the motherboard.
I have the bios configured. I am trying to install winXP. Gets an error" No mass storage device detected" " there is no hard drive detected" . In the boot sequence in the BISO I have the hard dirve listed.
I did create the floppy disk for the viaraid using the cd supplied with the motherboard. Using f6 while installing windows Xp I did install the driver viaraid from the floppy. But its the same problem when installing windows. "No mass storage device detected."

Requesting some help...

Thanks in adv..

·
Guru
1,315 Posts
Hi itsniceday,
I did create the floppy disk for the viaraid using the cd supplied with the motherboard...But its the same problem when installing windows. "No mass storage device detected.
You don't have VIA RAID. You have a Promise chip instead. It's not the same thing. You don't need VIA software at all, even if you did want RAID. There's no VIA chip onboard to use such software, so nothing will be found.
Using f6 while installing windows Xp I did install the driver via raid from the floppy..."
You have only one disk drive. So you can't run RAID. Even though you have a Promise chip, you do not need to install a driver for it here. Ignore the "Press F6" message that comes up early in XP installs. It's just a reminder, not a demand! I wish the reminder message were phrased slightly differently, because it confuses new users. It disappears after a few-second timeout. Don't hit F6 here, period.
the hard drive is connected to the SATA0 on the motherboard using the red cable supplied with the motherboard.
Did you also attach a power cable? The data cable does not provide power.