Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going to buy a new pc but I'm not a computer pro so I want to make sure that I'm not getting taken advantage of. I want to get one custom built and need to now what hardware I should or should not get.

The main purpose for the computer is gaming.
I have decided on AMD instead of Intel but am hesitating between an X2 3800+ or a 3500+.

I have read that for the moment, dual core dosen't really affect game performance but if it is futurproof then I'm really interested.

The most interesting offer that has been made by a store is the following:

athlon64 X2 3800+
dual core 2x512KB 64-bit
asus A8N-E nf4 ultra
512 mo ddr 3200(400)
200Go sata/150 (7200)
NVIDIA 6600LE 256MB 16xPCI-E
(...) for about 1059$ canadian without software or monitor

I would add more memory (1Go) but have doubts about the video card. Wasn't the 6600LE meant for SLI technology? the motherboard isn't sli so why that card? Should I get a geforce 7800GT even though it would hurt my finances a bit or should I go with something else. What would be best to play present and near futur games?

I don't have the money to buy the best highend gaming pc but want to get the most for my money and be sure that i can easily upgrade parts in the futur. I do not trust myself to build my own pc so that's where you all come in.

Help would be appreciated
Thanks

·
Registered
127 Posts
If you are worried about pricing, I would go with the 3500+ processor. You wouldn't be able to tell the difference with what you will be using the computer for. Unless, that is, you plan on playing several games at the same time. As for the video card, it is PCI Express, which is what slot your motherboard uses.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Here are my thoughts: