Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I've started slowly adding upgrades to my year-old desktop, recently buying a new PSU and decent video card. My newest mission is for a 30"-40" LCD screen, which comes from 2 wants:

1. A larger computer monitor to be viewed at a greater distance
2. A new TV - IE compatible with a cable input

The computer screen comes from wanting to sit farther while playing games (like Trainz '09, Battlefront II, without straining my eyes or struggling with glare), and to have a larger display for working on CAD and photo editing software. I have a 22" widescreen monitor at the moment, but my setup (which predates this computer+monitor pair) has me practically nose-to-nose with it (and slightly lower). As for the TV, I've been using a 19" CRT for about 7-8 years, and while I'm not in a rush to replace it, the idea of combining the TV and computer in function is really alluring (especially as BDs have just begun to drop into my price range).

The big problem is the confined workspace. Right now my setup's in a room about 10'x10' (with furniture, slightly larger than an office cubicle). I don't have much space to back away from the screen. While replacing both my current monitor and TV will free some shelf space, the high back of my current desk probably means rearranging some furniture. And while the TV/monitor is something of a luxury right now, I also want to invest in a main TV for a (slightly) larger apartment in the next few years, when I'm living off ramen noodles and universe juice.

Aside from which, I've read in the past some issues with computer inputs on TVs - issues like fuzzy text or slow response resulting in the "ghosting" of moving objects.