Tech Support banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I recently added a 3rd HD on my 3 Drive setup in a Thermaltake Icage and recently it makes this weird "Rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrring" noise that dies down after then starts back up again. I was hoping one of the drives did not fail so I ran 2/3 drives to see which one was causing it. Turns out none of them made that particular noise until all 3 are plugged in. I am running a Nexus Case fan in the front and mostly everything is quiet and all I can hear now is the drives. I do not hear any clicking sounds so I doubt the drives are dead. Could it just be the design of my case? I have a Coolermaster Centurion 5. Should I look into an alternative into dampening the noise of 3 drives? I have screwed all the drives in tight.

Currently I have a

Western Digital 320gb (WD3200KS)
Maxtor 200gb 6Y200SO
Seagate 80gb (Slimline)

They are arranged in that order from Top to Bottom.

·
Banned
1,045 Posts
try moving a drive to a new location in your machine...tighten all screws (don't over torque!), check out how all the wires are routed and if that might be the real culprit...sounds like a resonant frequency is being created by the addition of another drive, and this should be fixable....by moving a drive you will be changing the dynamics of how energy is transferred through the case and hopefully that will work...I assume you have a cd/dvd burner, and if you need to move it to put a HDD in its place, then do so....

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·