Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
TSF Emeritus
758 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys!

Well, Here we go..

Before you tell me I know the dangers.. I'm an IT technician ;)
I was OCing last night for the first time ever, and first set my 200mhz FSB to 250Mhz to see how much the 3.00Ghz processor would go up.. F10 save and.. Computer wouldn't turn off.. or back on again. SO I turned back on whilst holding *Insert* made it boot. Then kept setting it down by 10's until i hit 210Mhz and it booted..

So i went up by 5Mhz to 215Mhz = booted.
216Mhz = Booted
217Mhz = Nothing. Hold Insert set down to 216Mhz

So now i have a 3.00Ghz processor running at 3.24Ghz... I'm sorry but, come on? Any help on clocking that processor up a bit? I'm at work at the minute so don't know the exact model of my mobo..
Its an;
MSI, FSb 200Mhz
DDR2 rated up to 4GB

So yeah.. I'll try and update you with mobo details when i can! :pray:

Thanks

·
Banned
4,862 Posts
We just need brand and model of the components.

Motherboard
CPU
RAM
Graphics card
Power supply

Also what your cooling setup is and what your load temperatures are like.

Can't help until we know more.

·
Hardware Team , Games Team
4,651 Posts
You also need to increase the voltages while Overclocking. Overclocking the FSB about 15mhz requires some voltage tweaking.
First step is to disable all CPU power save modes like C1 and if you have them C2 and C3.
What is your current stock voltages for all your Hardware components.
CPU
FSB
RAM
PCI-E

·
Enthusiast
16,762 Posts
aswell as the above you should go up in 5 or 10MHz at a time and everytime you have gone up by 50MHz you need to stress test. The issue you are having could be cooling, voltage or hardware that isn't good enough for the task. Most likely one of the first two though.

·
TSF Emeritus
758 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Okay here we go...
Motherboard: MSI 945G NEO -- FSB 200Mhz @ 216Mhz
Processor: Intel Pentium4 3.0Ghz @3.24Ghz