Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey,

I have a main PC downstairs which is connected to the router and a pc in my room. The thing is if I want to connect to the internet I have to restart the cable and router and turn on the PC I want connected onto the internet on first. The connection without the Internet displays as Limited or no connectivity.

The main problem is I cant get onto my router configuration (192.168.2.1) Im using a Belkin router and the hard reset button is broke... :/

So is there any other way to fix this?

Here is my main PCs (one connected to router) IPconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jacqui-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-DB-A9-87-1E
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e061:4b96:dd9d:7a4e%9(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 82.18.92.185(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 29 May 2008 20:02:39
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 04 June 2008 08:51:32
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 82.18.92.1
192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 80.3.160.21
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201333211
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
194.168.8.100
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:d5c7:a2ca:1c93:1281:aded:a346(Pr
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1c93:1281:aded:a346%8(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{9EFCFBC0-07CC-456C-801A-72CE418
B67}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::200:5efe:82.18.92.185%10(Preferre

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
194.168.8.100
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2002:5212:5cb9::5212:5cb9(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2002:c058:6301::c058:6301
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
194.168.8.100
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled



Please help its been like this for months now. I just want to play Xbox Live and ofc my xbox cant have the connection either


Thanks in advance.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
263 Posts
I think I know what is happening. Find some way to get into the router configuration, possibly by using the wired computer that has the drivers for the router on it. Then find the spot where there is wireless settings. Set the number of DHCP users to more than 1. The reason you can't get to your configuration is because remote configuration access is off. That must be turned on for you to be able to access it. To reset your router you can also unplug it from the wall and plug it in agan. :smile:
 

·
Global Moderator
Electronic Design
Joined
·
52,026 Posts
Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on.

  • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
  • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
  • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
  • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
  • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
  • Boot the computer.

When the computer is completely booted, let's see this.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on.
Reset button is broke theres nothing in there, If i stick somethign like a toothpick in it just goes straight through inside of the router :/ That was last time i tried anyway.

It only broke because I done it so many times and it wouldnt hard reset.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
263 Posts
I think I know what is happening. Find some way to get into the router configuration, possibly by using the wired computer that has the drivers for the router on it. Then find the spot where there is wireless settings. Set the number of DHCP users to more than 1. The reason you can't get to your configuration is because remote configuration access is off. That must be turned on for you to be able to access it. To reset your router you can also unplug it from the wall and plug it in agan. :smile:

Did you ever try this?
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top