Tech Support banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I have a few issues I need to fix asap. My current network has three computers (2 XP, 1 Vista), Vonage Phone adapter. I have another XP computer that I want to add and a hub(with built in Print server).
Here is a list of my devices.

1. Computer1(Vista). Computer2(XP). Computer3(XP). Computer4(XP).
2. Modem: Actiontech DSL.
3. Router: DLink DL-604 Broadband DSL.
4. Print Server USB (with 4 port switch): Linksys PSUS4
5. Vonage Phone Adapter: D-Link VTA
------------------------------------------------------------------------
So here is what I want to do.

(1)
Modem enet port to Router uplink.
Router Port1 to Vonage
Router Port2 to Print Server Port1.
Router Port3 to Computer1(XP)
Router Port4 to Computer2(Vista)

(2)
Print Server Port2 to Computer3(XP)
Print Server Port3 to Computer4(XP)
Print Server USB Port to Brother HL-5140 Laser Printer

(3) Vonage
Phone Port 1 to Home Junction Box.
Home Junction Box to Phone1, Phone2, Phone3, Phone4.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Here is what is done. The vonage step 3 is setup already. I already know this works.

With Vonage and three computers connected to the router, the network works. If I add the Print Server to the router and tie two computers to the router and two computers to the Print Server ports, Only the computers connected to the router work, along with the vonage.
Setup in this manner, the Print server software see's the print server, but none of the computers on the print server ports(2+3) connect to the internet.

How do I setup this network so that all computers and vonage connect to the internet and so that all the computers on the network can access the printer?

Answers would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
This is what I get if I go to CMD: Type: ipconfig/All. (If you need this)

Microsoft Windows [Version 5.2.3790]
(C) Copyright 1985-2003 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : phinnemo-eywdg2
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-F2-54-15-9E
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.102
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::215:f2ff:fe54:159e%4
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 13, 2007 8:13:13 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 20, 2007 8:13:13 PM

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 80-00-15-4D-BF-ED-B5-3F
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4136:e38c:8000:154d:bfed:b53f
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%5
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-00-66
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.102%2
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
 

·
Citizen of the world
Joined
·
51,041 Posts
Is that from one of the machines on the print server switch? If not, that's what we need to see.

Also, from one connected to the print server, try this:

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

PING 216.109.112.135

PING yahoo.com

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Actually Steps 1 and 3 are all okay. For the pinging from the other computers, I'll have to wait till the new Vonage box gets here. That is the DLink VTA. When it does, I'll try that and get back to you.
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top