Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows Servers

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Server 2k3 with 2 NICs - Internet Problem

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Server 2k3 with 2 NICs - Internet Problem within the Windows Servers forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi wasn't sure if i should post this question in this area or in general networking but here is my

Closed Thread

Old 07-17-2011, 11:48 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hi wasn't sure if i should post this question in this area or in general networking but here is my problem! I'm new to all this and this is my first server i think I've done well so far.... Please be gentile! :P

I have a Windows Server 2003 box running DHCP, DNS, AD, File & Printer Share.

The Server has 2 NICs. One for the internal Network (NIC1) and the other (NIC2) for the internet. Here is my setup (inline):

Internet

Belkin Router (DHCP & NAT both on):
IP: 192.168.2.1

NIC2 (Auto Obtain) for internet:
IP: 192.168.2.16
SNM: 255.255.255.0
DGW:192.168.2.1
DHCP Server: 192.168.2.1
DNS Server: 192.168.2.1

Server 2k3 (DHCP, DNS, AD, File & Print Share):
IP: 192.168.1.8

NIC1 (Static) for internal networking:
IP: 192.168.1.8
DGW: Blank
DHCP Server: Not shown in Details
DNS Server: 192.168.1.8

Cisco Switch (No info just used as a hub)

Belkin Router (DHCP: on & NAT: off):

IP: 192.168.1.1

PC1 (Office) Wired Direct (Static)
(Not on Domain - attached as Workgroup Computer)
IP: 192.168.1.3
DGW: 192.168.1.8

PC2 (Shop) Wireless to Router (Static) on Domain:
IP: 192.168.1.4
DGW: 192.168.1.8

The workstations communicate Great with the Server and the Server communicates Great with them (No Problems with file sharing or accessing anything other than the Internet)!

The Server has Internet Access That works Great.

However, NONE of the workstations can access the Internet through the Server!!!