Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Mac Support

User Tag List

video viewing problem

This is a discussion on video viewing problem within the Mac Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. For several months I have been having difficulty opening video links that have been sent to me and videos on


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-18-2017, 07:29 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: MD
Posts: 16
OS: osx



For several months I have been having difficulty opening video links that have been sent to me and videos on youtube. When I select the video the screen comes up with the "arrow" in the center. a small white circle rotates around the arrow and nothing happens. Sometimes I get sound and along the bottom I can bring up still pictures of the video but that is all. I have found that if I select 3, 4 of 5 other videos one of them will come in correctly and then I can back up to the one I want to see.
There are other videos that are not available on you tube that I am just not able to see at all.
I believe this started with an update but am not sure about that.

OS X EL CAPITAN 10.11.5
3.06 Ghz intel core 2 duo
memory 4 GB 1067 Mhz DDR3
graphics ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB

Dave
livesteamer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2017, 01:06 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


What Browser are you using? (ie) Safari, Firefox, Chrome?
Try clearing the internet cache. In Safari https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 01-18-2017, 03:27 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: MD
Posts: 16
OS: osx



Sorry about that, I am using Firefox.
livesteamer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2017, 07:10 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-clear-cache-2617980
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 01-19-2017, 04:57 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: MD
Posts: 16
OS: osx



I have cleared the cache and cookies etc and there is no change. If the cache was full why would itstart to work after I try 4 or 5 other videos and when that one comes in I can go back to the original?
livesteamer is offline  
Old 01-20-2017, 01:11 PM   #6
Macintosh Methodology Wizard - TSF Retired
 
sinclair_tm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dusty Mexican Border Lands
Posts: 13,601
OS: Mac OS X 10.8.5, MS Win 7 Pro & Ultimate, iOS 9.3.5

My System

Send a message via AIM to sinclair_tm Send a message via MSN to sinclair_tm

Try Safari. Also, what plug-ins do you have installed in FF? Do you have click to play turned on? I have found that YouTube acts funny if it isn't allowed to play videos on it's own as soon as the page loads that it acts funny, this is with FF on Windows and MacOS. I have also found YouTube to still try to play Flash videos at first, and acts weird until you find an HTLM5 video, then all videos play fine after that.
sinclair_tm is offline  
Old 01-20-2017, 05:41 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: MD
Posts: 16
OS: osx



plugins
openH264
shockwave flash
widevinecontent decryption
citrix online web deployment
default browser helper
flip4mac windows media plugin
google earth plug in
iphotophotocast
silverlight which is disabled

I am not wild about going to Safari which I think is inferior to FF.
Dave
livesteamer is offline  
Old 01-23-2017, 10:21 AM   #8
Macintosh Methodology Wizard - TSF Retired
 
sinclair_tm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dusty Mexican Border Lands
Posts: 13,601
OS: Mac OS X 10.8.5, MS Win 7 Pro & Ultimate, iOS 9.3.5

My System

Send a message via AIM to sinclair_tm Send a message via MSN to sinclair_tm

I use FF over S too, but it is necessary to figure out if it's the computer or browser that is the problem.
sinclair_tm is offline  
Old 03-21-2017, 09:14 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: MD
Posts: 16
OS: osx



Long time no speak. I tried safari and got good video response so the problem must be in Firefox,
Dave
livesteamer is offline  
Old 03-21-2017, 01:02 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Glad you solved your problem. In the Future, please do not post more then one post on the same subject.
Please mark both of your posts as Solved in the Thread Tools at the top.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 03-21-2017, 06:05 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: MD
Posts: 16
OS: osx



Uhhh, I do not see it solved I do not want to use Safari. How do I fix Firefox?

Dave
livesteamer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touchpad Pointer Freezing Problem - Is there a Solution Out There?
Touch pad Freezing Review (Updated 30/1/2014) Millions of "Solutions" out there?! Hi! I have posted this on several forums in the hope that someone might have a working solution to this problem? I have given a fairly detailed description of things I have tried, but have not found a solution...
John Wilkinson Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 6 02-28-2014 11:54 AM
Computer running slowly
Hello, My laptop has not been working at the rate it should be, when I play games, it has very low framerates, and when I copy stuff to my hard drive, it takes ages (7-8MB/s) when originally it worked at around 30 MB/s, Here is my Dxdiag and the link to my speccy results: ------------------...
esxu Windows 8, 8.1 Support 3 06-19-2013 02:00 AM
[SOLVED] The system is using the generic video card.
So basically got a new operating system and I thought I had every driver installed but my video card is not showing up or something, I think I need to update its drivers but I cannot figure out what video card it is.. I'm getting errors like "Initialization of Direct3D Device failed. There is a...
atmmachine11 Windows XP Support 5 05-09-2012 08:20 PM
Can't do system restore
I tried to do a system restore after my computer started acting up after I installed some programs but it wouldn't let me. I had ripped some files off a dvd but I couldn't play them. So I downloaded an mp4 decoder. I could play them now, but I couldn't convert them in winavi. So I looked for a...
David999999 Windows XP Support 7 09-18-2011 07:12 PM
CoD Black Ops problem
Hi guys, i am new to this forum. 2 days ago i installed CoD Black Ops. Installation went correctly, and as i run game and start new game it shows intro and as soon as intro has to end it shows following error : https://img432.imageshack.us/img432/923/errore0hc.png I was trying to fix this...
gonz0. PC Gaming Support 3 01-25-2011 10:16 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts