Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Mac Support

User Tag List

System upgrade to keep using Norton

This is a discussion on System upgrade to keep using Norton within the Mac Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Apologies for stupid question. This is age related - both me and my Mac... My Norton Antivirus subscription expires at


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-15-2015, 02:40 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Henley-on-Thames, UK
Posts: 107
OS: OS X 10.11.6



Apologies for stupid question. This is age related - both me and my Mac...

My Norton Antivirus subscription expires at the end of the month, and I got the first reminder today when I powered up.

I'm using OS X v 10.5.8 which Norton say they no longer support. They want me to upgrade to 10.7, 10.8 or 10.9.

Because I don't have a RENEW button on my Norton home page, I have always had to do this with them over the phone. They tried to process the order and then realised they don't support my version of OS X.

Can anybody help with advice about which version will work on my machine and where to get it? Your advice would be much appreciated.
davidcoxell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-15-2015, 04:51 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Henley-on-Thames, UK
Posts: 107
OS: OS X 10.11.6



I'm now looking at Avast. Will this work with my version of OS X??
davidcoxell is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 05:47 AM   #3
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,986
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


As long as you have at least 128 MB of RAM and 750MB of disk space left.
https://www.avast.com/free-mac-security
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-15-2015, 06:16 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Henley-on-Thames, UK
Posts: 107
OS: OS X 10.11.6



Tried Avast, but couldn't download as system requirement is 10.6.8.

Tried to find this online but the system requirement is 10.6.7.

I'll try and upgrade to this first...
davidcoxell is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 07:37 AM   #5
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,986
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Avast says any OSX. Windows users can still download old versions of Avast that are completely usable with old OSs. The same is not true for Mac.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 09:38 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Henley-on-Thames, UK
Posts: 107
OS: OS X 10.11.6



Thanks for your help Corday.

Spoke to a friend earlier - an inveterate Mac user like myself. He didn't think any antivirus protection was necessary as "Macs don't need it." I was too stressed to try and explain that they do.

Between now and the end f the month I'll try and find something. Not having antivirus feels like walking down the street with no trousers on!!
davidcoxell is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 09:47 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Henley-on-Thames, UK
Posts: 107
OS: OS X 10.11.6



I guess come September 29 Norton Antivirus will just stop working.

This being the case I will need to get rid. Trouble is I've heard that it's a bit of a bugger to uninstall?
davidcoxell is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 10:23 AM   #8
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,986
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Use this link rather than the usual program removal: https://support.norton.com/sp/en/us/...rProfile_en_us
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 12:44 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,529
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Apple Macintosh is dragging us kicking and screaming into the future. Most programs now a days are not supported in older versions of the Mac OS. If you have at least 2GB of RAM and an Intel Mac from 2008 or later, you can upgrade your OS to 10.6.8, Snow Leopard, at that point your can Update your OS to the most recent OS Yosemite 10.10.5 for free.
BTW, there are very few Mac viruses, most Macs do not need an Anti-Virus program, as long as you keep your OS update.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 09-15-2015, 02:13 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Henley-on-Thames, UK
Posts: 107
OS: OS X 10.11.6



2.66GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2GB 800MHz DDR2 SDRAM

....apparently...



Thanks for your help chaps.
davidcoxell is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 03:00 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,529
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


You easily can update your OS. You just need a Snow Leopard disc, 10.6.8 and then you can Update to Yosemite for free.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 09-16-2015, 07:40 AM   #12
Moderator - Alternative Computing Team
 
MartyF81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 900
OS: Mac OS, Windows, iOS

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by davidcoxell View Post
Thanks for your help Corday.

Spoke to a friend earlier - an inveterate Mac user like myself. He didn't think any antivirus protection was necessary as "Macs don't need it." I was too stressed to try and explain that they do.

Between now and the end f the month I'll try and find something. Not having antivirus feels like walking down the street with no trousers on!!
I don't use Anti-virus on Mac. It really is not needed for most people. I have been using Mac's full time for 5 years now... and have never had Anti-Virus installed, nor have I had a virus infect my machines. You really have to basically "Allow" something to be installed that is malicious by clicking "ok" and/or entering a password.

Norton, for the most part, simply protects you from being a passthrough for Windows viruses to infect other Windows Machines.

Apple patches for known malicious software very quickly... so really the issue here is that you are running an old OS that is not supported. I would be more concerned up upgrading to the latest version of Mac OS-X that your machine is capable of running than worrying about installing Anti-Virus.

If you have an Apple Store near your... Make an Appointment.... most of the time if you are kind and polite... they will happily upgrade your OS for you in the store, for free.
__________________
MartyF81 is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 08:05 AM   #13
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Amd_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,760
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

My System


I've never seen Apple do anything for free.
__________________
https://www.piriform.com/speccy - System Specs Link
Amd_Man is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 09:22 AM   #14
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,986
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


MBam makes a Mac version.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 09-20-2015, 05:38 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
philmiami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Miami,FL the 51st State
Posts: 51
OS: OS X/Win7 Ultimate Bootcamp



Anti-virus is always good but unless you go on the dark Web thru TOR a lot, not really all that necessary
Is more malware that is the threat
There are many free products that can go back to 10.6.8 as I have 3 iMacs (2011,2010 and a 2006 white 17 inch for kid), as well as 2 mac minis, Apple TV,Macbook Pro, Macbook (2006 white), and iPhone 6+, 6 and 5, iPad Air 2 and iPad 3
I use one on the 2006 iMac that can not upgrade past 10.6.8, the others all run 10.10.5
Tried Norton but ran system into the ground
Make sure you uninstall it all the way the Norton then just try the Avast
If you can not upgrade to 10.6.8 because you don't have the disc you can always download it thru a .torrent file using a file like Transmission or Vuze.
If your not that technically inclined all to well, then use Transmission
You'll need a good broadband connection too
philmiami is offline  
Old 09-20-2015, 06:35 AM   #16
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,986
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Best to stay away from Torrents.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 09-20-2015, 07:33 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
philmiami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Miami,FL the 51st State
Posts: 51
OS: OS X/Win7 Ultimate Bootcamp



I just state that people can do whatever people want to do
it's called a free society
the right to make your own choice as to what is right and wrong by your standards
if you want to download OS X 10.6.8 from a torrent do so
It is NOT supported in the least bit by Apple
Do whatever feels ok to yourself
that's all
BUT
I will adamantly say to NEVER use Micro$oft Winblow$ OS or Android
BOTH are INSECURE, have a ratio of like 1000:1 in malware and/or viruses
OS X is based of UNIX, as is Linux, Oracle,etc (enterprise level server systems)
and it is still the most secure platform in use
so OS X by definition is way more secure than Winblow$
and iOS is based off the same underlying platform...UNIX
So it is more secure also
the old saying, you get what you pay for
That's why Apple is more expensive
Engineering (hardware wise) is better than any other and since Apple is a hardware company that also makes the operating system, it is better engineered as well
to sum it up.....
It just works
philmiami is offline  
Old 09-20-2015, 12:58 PM   #18
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,529
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


This forum is not a Free Society. The rules mention that you cannot talk about Torrents as the Forum believes this is associated with Pirated software. Mac OSX 10.6.8 is not legally free.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
random blue screen crash
hello i seem to have a graphics card issue and i am not sure how to fix it what happens is the computer will blue screen at any random time and it will say dumping physical memory to disk and will load till it gets to 100% and then i ususly shut it off as it will stay at that screen if i do...
pandasniper100 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 12-08-2013 07:32 AM
[SOLVED] BSOD when accessing internet
Hi, OS - Vista/ Windows 7 ? : Vista SP 2 x86 (32-bit) or x64 : 32-bit What was original installed OS on system? :Vista Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)? : Full retail Age of system (hardware): 3-4 years ...
eraonel BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 11 02-01-2012 12:41 PM
[BSOD] Several Crashes
Frankly I'm a bit stumped, what I've done up to this point was pointless so I'd like to start fresh in finding out what's wrong with my hardware/software. Firstly, the problem at hand is that I'm randomly facing BSODS often times while I'm playing games but I don't think the games have much to...
Devilize BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 15 08-25-2011 04:42 AM
[SOLVED] BSOD 0x9f Vista Home Basic
I am working on my gfs computer trying to get rid of getting a BSOD on a near daily basis. I tried to attach the files requested as one zip but it was too large. OS: Vista x86 (32-bit) or x64 ? 32bit What was original installed OS on system? Vista Home Basic SP 1 Is the OS an OEM version?...
lius69 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 08-18-2011 12:25 PM
Games causing BSOD! Windows 7 x64 - 0x124 [moved from BSOD, Crashes]
Windows 7 64bit full retail reinstalled once NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 Mobo AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 B45 Processor (4 CPUs), ~3.1GHz 4 Gigs RAM
jediewok Motherboards, Bios & CPU 7 03-22-2011 02:45 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts