Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Mac Support

User Tag List

New SSD and High Sierra Install

This is a discussion on New SSD and High Sierra Install within the Mac Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Specs: MacBook Pro; late 2011 MacOS: macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 I upgrade to High Sierra a couple of days ago


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-11-2018, 04:42 PM   #1
tdb
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 548
OS: Linux Mint: 19.2 & 18.3; Apple Sierra/Majave;


Question

Specs: MacBook Pro; late 2011
MacOS: macOS High Sierra 10.13.6


I upgrade to High Sierra a couple of days ago and I have a backup of the OS. I purchased a new Crucial 500gb SSD and I rather do a clean install. How do I go about this please? I notice Old OS aren't located in the App store. Thank you for any assistance you can give me. Cheers.
tdb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-11-2018, 05:53 PM   #2
tdb
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 548
OS: Linux Mint: 19.2 & 18.3; Apple Sierra/Majave;



Spunk-funk answered one of my questions in another thread, thanks... locating High Sierra. Which Sierra do I install? So many choices or does it make a difference? Thanks again.
tdb is offline  
Old 10-12-2018, 01:13 AM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,523
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


If you have a backup of the OS on an external HDD, install your SSD and attach the external backup drive to your Mac and restart holding down the Command+R Key. Start Disk Utilities and Create a Partition and Format the SSD. Once complete you can restore your backup of the OS using Time Machine, or however you created a backup. Or if you are connected by WiFi, you can reinstall the OS from the internet here.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-12-2018, 12:12 PM   #4
tdb
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 548
OS: Linux Mint: 19.2 & 18.3; Apple Sierra/Majave;



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
If you have a backup of the OS on an external HDD, install your SSD and attach the external backup drive to your Mac and restart holding down the Command+R Key. Start Disk Utilities and Create a Partition and Format the SSD. Once complete you can restore your backup of the OS using Time Machine, or however you created a backup. Or if you are connected by WiFi, you can reinstall the OS from the internet here.
Where's is "here"... :)

I've decided I really want to go with a clean install of the SSD. But I didn't no how to Create Partition, so thank you for the steps. I've been rocking the HDD in my Mac since I purchased it 2011. I'd prefer a clean install. Thanks again for your help.
tdb is offline  
Old 10-12-2018, 12:27 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,523
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


"Here" is when you hold the Command+R key when booting up. You are given a menu, where you can access Disk Utilities, and Reinstall the OS from the internet, Or choose Time Machine to restore a Backup. You also can reinstall the OS and the first bootup will ask if you want to restore a Backup from Time Machine or not.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 10-13-2018, 02:32 AM   #6
tdb
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 548
OS: Linux Mint: 19.2 & 18.3; Apple Sierra/Majave;



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
"Here" is when you hold the Command+R key when booting up. You are given a menu, where you can access Disk Utilities, and Reinstall the OS from the internet, Or choose Time Machine to restore a Backup. You also can reinstall the OS and the first bootup will ask if you want to restore a Backup from Time Machine or not.
Command + R: I have the Mac OS X Utilities window open:


Restore From Time Machine Backup

Reinstall Mac OS X
Set-up and install a new copy of Lion

Disk Utility


When I click on Disk Utility, I see

hdd icon 500.11 GB
Super Drive....

disk I
orange disk icon, Mac OS X Base System

So what am I doing, and will this get me where I want to go, download High Sierra.

Another question, could I just purchase a usb drive (from eBay with High Sierra) and reinstall via USB thumbdrive or DVD.
tdb is offline  
Old 10-13-2018, 08:36 AM   #7
tdb
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 548
OS: Linux Mint: 19.2 & 18.3; Apple Sierra/Majave;



OK, I've reformatted the SSD Disk.


Could I wipe with my old HDD drive with High Sierra on it, install the SSD Command + R and upload the macOS High Sierra?
tdb is offline  
Old 10-13-2018, 06:23 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,523
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Reinstall Mac OS X Set-up and install a new copy of Lion
From the Command+R screen, The latest OS for this computer on the internet is Lion 10.7, and not High Sierra. So, if you install from the internet, you will be left with 10.7 not 10.13.
If the SSD is in the computer and is partitioned and formatted, then attach your old HDD via a USB Adapter, Dock or Enclosure with a power adapter. Choose to Restore Backup from Time Machine and restore your old HDD.
High Sierra is a "Free" Software, you have to have a version of Mac OSX 10.10 installed on your computer or higher and then can Upgrade your OS for free from the Apple App Store
Or you can buy a USB Flash or DVD from 3rd party sources like Amazon or Ebay. https://www.amazon.com/Install-Insta.../dp/B07CSDCW4K
Buyer Beware
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad to put page file on SSD?
I got an SSD this week which made a night and day difference in the speed of my PC (while a 2 to 8 GB RAM upgrade was barely if at all noticeable). With the SSD it went from taking 15 seconds to load the Windows calculator (from my WD Black "high performance hard drive") to instant with the SSD...
aab1 Hard Drive Support 2 06-29-2011 06:09 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts