Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Mac Support

User Tag List

MS Office updater wants Office programs closed

This is a discussion on MS Office updater wants Office programs closed within the Mac Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. We have a new El Capitan iMac, with Office 2016. When the autoupdate feature has updates, it downloads them and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-17-2016, 06:21 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 107
OS: Win 10



We have a new El Capitan iMac, with Office 2016. When the autoupdate feature has updates, it downloads them and then tells us to close each of the Office programs as it tries to install them. I don't see any of the programs open, so I don't know how to close them. Any help appreciated!
dradile is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-17-2016, 08:42 AM   #2
Moderator - Alternative Computing Team
 
MartyF81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 900
OS: Mac OS, Windows, iOS

My System


Right click on the Icons on your Dock, and select "Quit"

Or you can click the Apple, and go to "Force Quit" and select the applications that are open.
__________________
MartyF81 is offline  
Old 04-17-2016, 02:52 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Any programs in the Dock with a small arrow below the icon are still "opened" do as Marty suggested and Quit each program before updating.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-17-2016, 05:02 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 107
OS: Win 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Any programs in the Dock with a small arrow below the icon are still "opened" do as Marty suggested and Quit each program before updating.
Thanks to you and Marty! That worked. I had to force quit each program, re-download the updates, and then installation worked. To get the MS office icons to appear in the Dock again, I had to go to applications and click on each one of them, and those icons showed up in the dock. All's well that ends well! Solved!
dradile is offline  
Old 04-17-2016, 11:26 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


If the icon in the Dock has an arrow below it, it is still open. If you want to create Shortcuts to the Office programs, drag each icon from the Applications folder to the Dock. It will permanently create a shortcut icon without opening the program.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 04-18-2016, 04:46 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 107
OS: Win 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
If the icon in the Dock has an arrow below it, it is still open. If you want to create Shortcuts to the Office programs, drag each icon from the Applications folder to the Dock. It will permanently create a shortcut icon without opening the program.
Interesting. I was wondering if I would have to go through the force quit, etc. each time an autoupdate came through. Thanks a lot.
dradile is offline  
Old 04-18-2016, 12:32 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Yes you would have to Force Quit if the programs have an arrow on the dock and are still open. Plus, when a program is still open, it is using your computers resources in the background even though you are not using the program.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 04-19-2016, 10:54 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 107
OS: Win 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Yes you would have to Force Quit if the programs have an arrow on the dock and are still open. Plus, when a program is still open, it is using your computers resources in the background even though you are not using the program.
OK, I pulled shortcuts of excel and word onto the desktop. Should I force quit the icons in the dock and forget about them, just using the shortcuts when I need them?
dradile is offline  
Old 04-19-2016, 11:26 AM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Yes, force quit any applications that have arrows under them. If your desktop gets crowded, you can drag the icons to the Dock as well or instead.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 04-21-2016, 09:35 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 107
OS: Win 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Yes, force quit any applications that have arrows under them. If your desktop gets crowded, you can drag the icons to the Dock as well or instead.
Hi, Sorry for the delay in replying. I now have excel and word as icons on the desktop. I could not drag them into the dock. But they will work. I force quit the usual icons of word, excel, etc. from the dock. Oddly when I do that a get a popup re: error reporting which I also force quit to get rid of it. I suppose it has to do with just plain old quitting the program and MS wants to report it as an anomaly. Oh, well.
dradile is offline  
Old 04-21-2016, 12:23 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


You shouldn't have to Force Quit any application unless it is hanging up. Just Right click or hold CTRL+Click and and choose Quit.
Dragging icons to Desktop is great, I was just letting you know that if you want them in the Dock instead of or in addition to the Desktop, you can drag them there as well, but whatever makes you happy.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 04-21-2016, 01:28 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 107
OS: Win 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
You shouldn't have to Force Quit any application unless it is hanging up. Just Right click or hold CTRL+Click and and choose Quit.
Dragging icons to Desktop is great, I was just letting you know that if you want them in the Dock instead of or in addition to the Desktop, you can drag them there as well, but whatever makes you happy.
Yep, Control and click works-thanks. Pardon the pun, but a little control for the operator feels good!

Thanks again for all your help!
dradile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spinning ring - all web pages loading slow - follow up report logs
I'm responding now with first set of report logs on the problem above I heard back from "Amateur" amateur Security Team Moderator, Analyst Rangemaster, TSF Academy Join Date: Jun 2006 Location: here & there and everywhere
sam94 Resolved HJT Threads 17 03-28-2014 07:14 PM
Help Please
Tech Support Forum 26-09-2013 Dear Sirs Help Please My name is Jack Willday, and I have recently in the last 3 months purchased a new laptop a Samsung 900X4C-A03 The computer arrived running Windows 8 which is proving to be for me at 70 years of age a big problem. I recently when scanning the...
Jack Willday Resolved HJT Threads 30 10-17-2013 05:21 PM
Urgent help needed to remove multiple virus :win64/patched.A and Trojan.
Dear tech guru, I got hit by the FBI virus a day and a half ago and later more viruses came in unexpected. Here are the details of my computer and the viruses. I have already backed up my system, and ran the tdsskiller and otl. I would like to completely get rid of the viruses. Your help is...
deesw8 Resolved HJT Threads 52 11-05-2012 09:56 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts