Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Mac Support

User Tag List

Macbook air 13 (Mid 2013) backup when not turning on( No Power)

This is a discussion on Macbook air 13 (Mid 2013) backup when not turning on( No Power) within the Mac Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Everyone, I had Mac book Air purchase almost 2 year back,This was my primary laptop I forget to take


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-15-2016, 11:59 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
akbaruddin9322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 31
OS: xp sp3


Confused

Hi Everyone,

I had Mac book Air purchase almost 2 year back,This was my primary laptop I forget to take time-machine backup's.

My question: How can i Get the backup from my mac-book air when it's not turning on, I went to get it repaired they are charging more than its worth but right now don't even want to get it repaired.

Can anyone please assist me on protocol for getting Data back.

Any Help will be really appreciated.

Thanks,
akbaruddin9322 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-16-2016, 07:39 AM   #2
Moderator - Alternative Computing Team
 
MartyF81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 900
OS: Mac OS, Windows, iOS

My System


Unfortunately if the Mac won't turn on at all... there is very little you can do.

About the only thing you can do is remove the SSD (Hard Drive) stick from the computer and put it in an Enclosure.

I only know of 1 enclosure that works on the SSD from that model computer, it is an Envoy from OWC.

You can purchase an Envoy from Other World Computing: https://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/MAU3ENPRPCI/

Basically what that does is takes the hard drive out of your Air... and turns it into an External Drive that you can plug into a different Mac and access your data.

This somewhat advanced to do though and you have to feel comfortable disassembling your computer and have another Mac you can plug it in to. Also... disclaimer... if the reason your Mac won't turn on is because the hard drive has failed... There is nothing you can do.

The only alternative is to send it to some type of Data Recovery company that will do this for you....
__________________
MartyF81 is offline  
Old 08-16-2016, 12:17 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
akbaruddin9322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 31
OS: xp sp3


Roll Eyes

Thanks for your response and assistant If I would like to Go up with option 2nd As you said: Pulling PCie SSD drive and replacing it with another mac book.

Will I able get it worked on by installing it on Mac book pro retina(13"inch )2013 late ?

OR

If I can take my friend laptop which is in warranty MBP 15"inch MJLT2 After completion of my work backup session, I will re-switch these again SSD drives.

will this work or can harm this laptop?

Thanks in Advance !!!
akbaruddin9322 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-16-2016, 12:19 PM   #4
Moderator - Alternative Computing Team
 
MartyF81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 900
OS: Mac OS, Windows, iOS

My System


No you would remove it.. and put it in the Enclosure I linked to... and then plug that USB enclosure into a Mac that is already working and transfer your files from the drive.

You are NOT inserting the PCie SSD in another Mac. It will not work unless the Mac you are putting it in is the same exact model.
__________________
MartyF81 is offline  
Old 08-16-2016, 12:47 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
akbaruddin9322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 31
OS: xp sp3


Wink

Thanks for support, is there kind thing I can get avail in INDIA.

If not please suggest me on that too.where can i get this peace of hard-drive Casing ( enclouser)


From India,

Thanks,
akbaruddin9322 is offline  
Old 08-16-2016, 12:53 PM   #6
Moderator - Alternative Computing Team
 
MartyF81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 900
OS: Mac OS, Windows, iOS

My System


This is the only place I know that makes them:

https://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/MAU3ENPRPCI/
__________________
MartyF81 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD When Game Crashes
So I have had this computer for a couple of months and have had no problems. But recently, whenever my game crashes (even low end games like Turbo Dismount and Titan Souls) a few seconds later, my computer will BSOD. I have tried to uninstall and reinstall my driver and use Driver Verify, but...
Rubiks BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 10 01-07-2016 12:03 PM
BSOD related to ntoskrnl.exe(mini dmp files attached)
Hello guys, My laptop constantly have BSOD. After tonnes of checking, I realize it should be related to my graphics card. However, I have done all the updates to it and still, BSOD happens. I really need some help here since its very annoying, thank you very much. Laptop: Acer Aspire v3 772g...
matthew02270 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 14 03-31-2014 09:32 AM
[SOLVED] IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL win8.1 64bit
Hi I've been having BSOD since ive had my computer. It came with windows pre-installed and I believe I have narrowed the issue down to a corrupt file ntoskrnl.exe. I first noticed this on Bluescreenviewer. I have downloaded WinDbg and got this from the dump file. Probably caused by :...
julian121 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 45 03-28-2014 02:27 PM
Random bluescreens in gaming
Hello, I have a new Toshiba SATELLITE P70-A-10. It came with Windows 8 and I upgraded it to Windows 8.1. Then I started gaming with the machine but it randomly gives BSOD's. It occures once an hour when gaming and sometimes never. I've attached the dumps and as you can see, there are 5...
Bluerandoms BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 17 11-12-2013 09:39 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts