Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Mac Support

User Tag List

Just Got Used MacBook ... Question about Update OS

This is a discussion on Just Got Used MacBook ... Question about Update OS within the Mac Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hilly ho!!! I'm new to mac. Just got this macbook . It has 160GB 2GB ram and Lion 10.7.5 ...

Closed Thread

Old 10-09-2016, 02:56 PM   #1
Registered Member

My System

Arrow

Hilly ho!!! I'm new to mac. Just got this macbook. It has 160GB 2GB ram and Lion 10.7.5 ... now at the app site it says that Lion 10.7 can upgrade to Sierra, but when I tried to do it I get a statement that it can't be installed on my machine ... what am I missing???
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-09-2016, 03:22 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast

OS: WIN7 ULTIMATE - 64 bit (SP1), FIREFOX, ASUS G75 'ROG' laptop(s)

Due to processor incompatibility with the newer OS, it cannot run Mountain Lion or newer. The code that supported 32bit CPU's was removed!

https://www.ifixit.com/Answers/View/...1+to+os+x+10.8

This is why these models are available so cheap!

"First get your facts; then you can distort them at your leisure." - Mark Twain

"Remember - HARDWARE is the part of the computer that can be KICKED!" - WIZMO
Old 10-09-2016, 08:45 PM   #3
Registered Member

My System

Arrow

There's always some kind of catch when updating ... guess it's true with macs too. Well it still works well surfing the net despite the old OS. Firefox doesn't support it so I can't install it, but I can still install chrome to get youtube even though it is no longer supported.

Wow the processor incompatible with the OS ... that's certainly different from windows.

It still suits my needs so I can live with it not being able to upgrade the OS. The price was just right for surfing the net while in bed, or outside.
Closed Thread

Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
url:mal virus