Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Mac Support

User Tag List

iMac boot up failure

This is a discussion on iMac boot up failure within the Mac Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have an iMac running Yosemite. when we boot up I do not get the chime but do get the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-22-2015, 10:28 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 8
OS: os x yosemite



I have an iMac running Yosemite. when we boot up I do not get the chime but do get the Apple logo and a status bar that move very slow. Eventually we get a black screen followed by a white screen with a file folder with a question mark blinking. I tried a few time with same results. On one occasion that I saw there was some script that appeared in the upper left corner for about 2 seconds. Too fast for me to read. Turned it off for a few minutes and tried again. No luck. Would you please give me the benefit of your knowledge and some guidance? Thanks, I appreciate all the help.
rjlarson88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-22-2015, 01:17 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,523
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


The File folder with a ? means that the HDD has failed, or that the OS is corrupted. You will need to get Macintosh install media (eg) DVD or USB and boot off of it and get to Disk Utilities and check the permissions on the HDD. You may need to replace the HDD.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 08-22-2015, 02:35 PM   #3
Moderator - Alternative Computing Team
 
MartyF81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 900
OS: Mac OS, Windows, iOS

My System


This can also mean that it has somehow lost which drive to use during startup. For example if you had tried to multi boot the computer with more than 1 OS... or were messing around in the startup drive area in the System Preferences. The computer will remember which partition it last boot into... and if that is gone... it gets confused.

When you turn on the computer, hold OPTION and see if it lets you select an OS or Drive to boot into. If you do this and you select the drive... you should be able to get to your desktop. Then you go into System Preferences and in "Startup Disk" area you can fix the setting to prevent this from happening again.
__________________
MartyF81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2015, 06:25 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 8
OS: os x yosemite



Thanks to both of you. I will try MartyF81's simple solution first, if that fails move to Spunk.Funks. I will let you know what happens.
rjlarson88 is offline  
Old 08-24-2015, 10:38 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 8
OS: os x yosemite



I gave the options key method a few tries. I did get two locations to select from. They were the iMac hard drive and a recovery 10.10.3. I tried the recovery three times. Only improvement was i got the tone at the beginning when I turned it on after the initial attempt did not complete. The status bar goes about half way then stops. No indication there is anything else for me to do so I assume it just hangs up there.

I will try spunk.funk's suggestion or just truck it in to an authorized repair shop.

When I upgraded to Yosemite I did a download. I have no OS discs.

Thanks again for the help.
rjlarson88 is offline  
Old 08-24-2015, 11:27 AM   #6
Moderator - Alternative Computing Team
 
MartyF81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 900
OS: Mac OS, Windows, iOS

My System


When you selected the iMac hard drive what happened? Nothing? Same error?

It could be the hard drive is dead like Spunk said.
__________________
MartyF81 is offline  
Old 08-24-2015, 12:23 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,523
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
It could be the hard drive is dead like Spunk said.
If trying Recovery fails, that chances are great the HDD has failed.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 08-24-2015, 02:07 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 8
OS: os x yosemite



Woo is me. Thank goodness I backed it up the other day with an external hard drive. Could it be it is looking for that drive for some reason? It is no longer attached.
rjlarson88 is offline  
Old 08-24-2015, 02:25 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,523
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


It could be the HDD has become unattached, but it is very rare. There are Youtube videos that will guide you on how to remove the HDD, just type in your model # and replace HDD. Then you can test the HDD on another computer. If it has failed, then you will need to replace it and install Mac OS X
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't restart/shut down
Setup: Win 7 home premium 64-bit laptop, i7 3610qm nvidia geforce gtx 660m When i try to restart or shut down via start menu nothing happens. If i then click on the taskbar explorer crashes, when restarted a new one opens but the old one is still visible on the screen though i cannot interact...
jakeed Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 35 04-09-2014 10:24 AM
[SOLVED] disk boot failure
Hi all, my first post. I have just reinstalled XP, all went fine, downloaded MSE and switched off. Booting up next day the following message appeared, DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER. Doing this does gets me into XP but it needs to done on each boot up. I have run Win xp...
roymin Windows XP Support 9 03-10-2013 12:50 PM
Boot failure at start up: decision time
Toshiba Satellite L670 Intel i3 CPU [email protected] GHz RAM 4 GB 64-bit OS Windows 7 Professional Hi -- :wave:
blujeans444 Laptop Support 5 10-31-2011 02:58 PM
5 Master Boot Drive Failure
So, I'm currently in the middle of trying to ascertain whether my motherboard or my HDD is at fault here. My main problem started when I took a peek in my case while it was running, didn't touch anything, but moved the case a tiny, tiny bit. The computer froze up and I had to shut it off. (I'd...
hannah Hard Drive Support 10 09-16-2011 02:15 PM
NTDLR, Disk Boot Failure = Dead HDD?
Hey guys. I've been through quite a lot of trouble with a secondary computer. It has an Asus M2A-VM motherboard, and has been running with two SATA drives, a MaxtorDiamondMax 21 (250 gigs) and a Samsung HD250HJ (also 250 gigs). The system is running winxp prof. Okay, a little...
Powercore Hard Drive Support 1 02-21-2011 08:56 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts