Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Mac Support

User Tag List

How to format USB BU Drive and create HFS+ Partition

This is a discussion on How to format USB BU Drive and create HFS+ Partition within the Mac Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Seagate Plus 3 tb USB Drive that I formatted with partitions for FAT32 and HFS+. since my


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-30-2015, 08:12 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
OS: osx yosemite



I have a Seagate Plus 3 tb USB Drive that I formatted with partitions for FAT32 and HFS+. since my macbook stopped recognizing the drive ( does not appear in Disk Utilities) and since i am not concerned with losing the files i would like to format the drive and start over with just the HFS+ system.

the drive is recognized immediately in my win xp so I assume the trouble is not with connections. my question is “how to go about the format to erase the drive and create the HFS+ partition…….??
rok7751 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-30-2015, 09:17 AM   #2
Moderator - Alternative Computing Team
 
MartyF81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 900
OS: Mac OS, Windows, iOS

My System


Are you able to format the drive in the Windows Machine?

I would erase the entire drive in Windows, and then try and connect it to the Mac. Seems like there is some kind of issue with the Partition Scheme that it is not recognizing the drive.
__________________
MartyF81 is offline  
Old 11-30-2015, 09:19 AM   #3
Moderator - Alternative Computing Team
 
MartyF81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 900
OS: Mac OS, Windows, iOS

My System


Also, can you provide the exact model of the drive. Some 3TB USB drives... are actually 2 1.5 drives in one housing that are simulating 1 drive that is 3TB.... and Seagate has special software you have to use to Format the drives. You may need to download the software from Seagate to accomplish the formatting.
__________________
MartyF81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-30-2015, 09:37 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
OS: osx yosemite



Thanks for prompt response, i was worried that formatting in Windows would be a wrong move. I did look at Seagate support site but found no mention of my situation..

Info on drive Label….Seagate Backup Plus, Desktop Drive
Model SRDOSDO Part No. 1DXAP3-500 3TB

Macbook Pro OSX yosemite
rok7751 is offline  
Old 11-30-2015, 11:37 AM   #5
Moderator - Alternative Computing Team
 
MartyF81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 900
OS: Mac OS, Windows, iOS

My System


Ok the tool to reformat that drive is on this page of their site: Business Windows Backup - Backup Windows Group | Seagate

It is called Seagate Dashboard for Mac OS.

There is also a link on the page for your exact issue in the Troubleshooting issue: Why can't I reformat my 3TB drive after plugging it into a system running MacOS?
__________________
MartyF81 is offline  
Old 11-30-2015, 04:47 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
OS: osx yosemite



OK, i'll be on this tonight and report back tomorrow,
rok7751 is offline  
Old 11-30-2015, 05:57 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
OS: osx yosemite



Went to that Seagate link and see that is refers to formatting a drive with a GPT partition and how to go about it.
The windows Disk Management shows my Seagate disk as having a healthy but unknown partition
lt seems i can just delete the partitions then and format the drive. what is still unclear is how do I then format it with the recommended HFS+ partition....
rok7751 is offline  
Old 11-30-2015, 06:08 PM   #8
Moderator - Alternative Computing Team
 
MartyF81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 900
OS: Mac OS, Windows, iOS

My System


The link... was to address why your Mac is not able to see the drive at all. You need to fix your Mac being able to actually see the device first.

Once you get your Mac to see the device.... you likely need to use that software they have available on their website to do the partitioning.

This is because I think those externals have 2 physical drives in there and a small controller board that ties them together to simulate a single drive. The software they have for downloading does the actual formatting for you.
__________________
MartyF81 is offline  
Old 12-01-2015, 06:56 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
OS: osx yosemite



Well, after following the steps to erase the GPT partition in Windows i was able to then connect it to my Mac and format it with the mac os extended journaled partition. i would then use it just for the macbook BU.. problem is, the next time i booted the mac the problem returned where the drive is not seen. after several reboots with no success i decided to use the drive on the windows computer where it has worked fine for several years now.
my thanks for your time and suggestions.
rok7751 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
drive is not accessible after extend using partition wizard 9
Drive E 'main data partition which contains all my important files' becomes RAW (not NTFS) after extending OS Drive C using partition wizard 9 software which finished successfully without errors! (all details available below): MY HARDDISK WAS RUNNING WITHOUT PROBLEMS BEFORE USING THIS...
johnjackie Windows 8, 8.1 Support 1 03-08-2015 07:01 PM
[SOLVED] After pressing some key combo, I boot into emergency mode
I use Fedora 20. After pressing ctrl-alt-some function key, I entered emergency mode. Now every time I boot my computer, I enter emergency mode before I enter the normal OS. When I enter the normal OS there are no problems. How do I disable the auto-boot into emergency mode?
jengelhart Linux Support 26 07-25-2014 04:12 PM
ZeroAccess virus
Hi my computer seems to have been infected by the zeroaccess virus and I need some help to remove it can someone please tell me how to get rid of it.
topogijo Resolved HJT Threads 18 05-20-2013 11:25 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts