Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Mac Support

User Tag List

How long to partition drive?

This is a discussion on How long to partition drive? within the Mac Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a 500 GB drive that I had been using on a Windows computer. I'm currently waiting for MAC


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-20-2016, 08:42 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 204
OS: Windows 10



I have a 500 GB drive that I had been using on a Windows computer. I'm currently waiting for MAC to partition this drive. In the last 1 1/2 hours the blue "creating partition map" progress bar has hardly moved. I don't know. May it has stopped. It still has that "watery" look like it's working. How long should it take to partition a drive?

1 partition
MAC OS Extended (Journaled)
EventVwr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-20-2016, 09:47 PM   #2
Moderator - Alternative Computing Team
 
MartyF81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 900
OS: Mac OS, Windows, iOS

My System


Less than a minute is about as long as it should take to do it.
__________________
MartyF81 is offline  
Old 08-20-2016, 09:49 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 204
OS: Windows 10



That's what I thought. I decided to zero wipe it. Then I'll try again to partition.
EventVwr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-22-2016, 12:00 AM   #4
WesternDigital
Representative
 
Mighty_Miro_WD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 158
OS: Windows 7



Hi @EventVwr!

I agree with @MartyF81 - it shouldn't take more than few minutes to partition a 500GB drive. So I'd suggest what you've already started dong - write zeroes on the hard disk and then try to partition and format it.

Hopefully it will work, but in case it doesn't then there could be something wrong happening with the HDD so I'd suggest to run a diagnostic test, for instance "Verify Disk" via Disk Utility, and see if anything wrong will be detected.

Hope this helps and let us know how it went. :)
__________________


Official WD Representative

www.wdc.com
Mighty_Miro_WD is offline  
Old 08-22-2016, 12:21 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 204
OS: Windows 10



I grabbed another (older) drive, used Data Lifeguard to zero wipe the start and end of it on my Windows computer, then partitioned it on my MAC and that took seconds. It was a newer drive that was causing the problems. Maybe that had something to do with it. Maybe I needed to stick a jumper on there.
EventVwr is offline  
Old 08-22-2016, 08:03 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


SATA drives do not require a Jumper.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple computer issues, Win Explorer stops responding
I'm having numerous issues on my computer, all of them starting a couple weeks ago. The problems include: random shut downs, missing desktop icons, applications hang when starting, unable to stop processes using task manager (and sometimes unable to even start task manager), unable to shut down...
Ugarte Resolved HJT Threads 9 06-28-2014 09:32 AM
Possible Spyware.
So I come home the other day to find "PC Optimizer" popped up on my computer. I questioned my wife about it, and she thought she had only downloaded an update to Adobe. I run a business at home, and it is causing some problems with our shipping software. The "malware" is causing the "Use a proxy...
alanh Resolved HJT Threads 13 06-13-2014 04:05 AM
Luhe.Sire.A infection
I tried to download both programs you advice to download and run, but each time I tried the pc wouldn't allow the download or even to run them direct...A pop up window said 'Item cannot be downloaded as it contained a virus'. when clicking on a tab within the message which said "Learn More" a...
Aw-Naw Resolved HJT Threads 43 06-06-2013 01:37 AM
Trouble installing XP Pro on drive partition
Hi Experts, I have a problem installing XP Pro SP3 on a partition on my drive to get triple boot with w7 and ubuntu. My drive has four partitions: https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resid=A9FAEAB119AA3070!277 https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resid=A9FAEAB119AA3070!274
dnewton Windows XP Support 2 10-13-2012 07:21 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts