Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Mac Support

User Tag List

Hard drive on macbook dead?

This is a discussion on Hard drive on macbook dead? within the Mac Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've been a 2012 MacBook Pro that started being sluggish a few months ago after installing chrome. After researching, I

Closed Thread

Old 08-26-2015, 11:22 AM   #1
Registered Member

I've been a 2012 MacBook Pro that started being sluggish a few months ago after installing chrome. After researching, I realized my cpu was being eaten my chrome helper, and my stopping that, I recovered nearly half my power. I also had recently upgraded maverick a day or two before my issue...

Anyway, my computer froze the other night, which has been happening fairly often lately. I couldn't do anything except a hard reset with the power bottom. Upon restarting, I got the screen that shows the start-up disk can't be found (file with question mark). I tried everything, and the only thing that I can get my computer to do is start Internet recovery, and when I being up the disk utility, my hard drive is gone.

Now, I think I can handle replacing the hard drive, but I'm worried about making the investment to find out that's not the issue. I haven't had the macbook even 3 years (my last lasted 7+!) and I'm surprised my hard drive could have went. I don't really have the ability to put the hard drive in another system, and I'm unsure if there is something else I can do to check it? I run a business's, and it's vital I have a system up and running ASAP, so this confusion of what to do has me very close to purchasing a new system, which won't be a Mac.

Basically, does this sound like the hdd? Is there anyway of testing this? Does anyone have any other suggestions for how id can proceed in order to get a running system going as quickly as possible? Tia!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-26-2015, 12:30 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus

My System