Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Mac Support

User Tag List

Firefox won't load

This is a discussion on Firefox won't load within the Mac Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I run Mac 10.6.8. Firefox crashed spectacularly. I had to restart the machine to get it to stop flashing. I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-03-2016, 05:27 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 4
OS: 10.6.8



I run Mac 10.6.8. Firefox crashed spectacularly. I had to restart the machine to get it to stop flashing. I threw it away and downloaded a new copy. When I open it the error message reads: "Profile missing. Firefox profile cannot be loaded. It may be missing or inaccessible." I've done this 4 times and the result is always the same. What can I do?
rderge1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-03-2016, 06:19 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,982
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


When you "threw it away", you didn't get rid of your FF Profile unless you specifically did so. An option in the old versions of FF was there, but since removed. See: https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...es-124715.html for more info.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 04-03-2016, 04:31 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


This happens when there is a profiles.ini file but the Firefox profile is missing from this file.
Also, the latest Firefox will not install and run properly on 10.6.8 Snow Leopard, try an older version Old Version of Firefox for Mac for Mac OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard) (Intel) Download - OldApps.com for Mac
To access the hidden file where the profile is stored, in Finder/Go/Go To Folder and type ~/Library and press return(the tilda ~ means Hidden) go to Application Support/Firefox/Profiles https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/976402
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-03-2016, 06:19 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 4
OS: 10.6.8



Quote:
Originally Posted by Corday View Post
When you "threw it away", you didn't get rid of your FF Profile unless you specifically did so. An option in the old versions of FF was there, but since removed. See: https://www.techsupport11111forum.com...es-124715.html for more info.
Where would I find the Firefox profile?
rderge1 is offline  
Old 04-03-2016, 06:27 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
To access the hidden file where the profile is stored, in Finder/Go/Go To Folder and type ~/Library and press return(the tilda ~ means Hidden) go to Application Support/Firefox/Profiles https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/976402
you would access the profile in the quote above, follow the instructions in the link. Be sure you have installed FF 37.1 and not any later versions, as those won't work with Snow Leopard.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 04-03-2016, 06:41 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 4
OS: 10.6.8



I did everything you said. I found the Firefox profiles and trashed them. Then I downloaded an older version of Firefox (37.0.1). Same result I started this thread with.
rderge1 is offline  
Old 04-03-2016, 06:52 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


If you followed the instructions in the link, you do not Trash the Proiles folder.
Did you follow the instructions in the link? https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/976402
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 04-03-2016, 07:05 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 4
OS: 10.6.8



I either did or I didn't, but I do have Firefox again. Thank you.
rderge1 is offline  
Old 04-03-2016, 11:29 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Ok if this solved your problem, please mark this thread Solved in the Thread Tools at the top.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Xp slow boot after splash screen
After the Windows Xp splash screen I get about 30 to 40 seconds of blackness (could be more) before the cursor appears. When I start in Safe Mode it takes a long time to load mup.sys but that could just be because it's the last one to load. Here's by most recent ntbtlog.txt: Service...
Sulla Windows XP Support 5 06-17-2013 10:29 AM
Display Issues
About 8 or 9 months ago I got a new computer (specs below). I have been having issues with it since then, however I did not return it because my old computer was a piece of **** and I really wanted this one. Whenever I watch youtube, and play some games (not of all them do this), my screen will...
babusca BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 117 09-05-2012 02:09 PM
Random BSOD and auto shutdown/ restart
I notice the BSOD trend to happen frequently when I have video/ flash running. I'm suspecting it to be a video/graphic card problem? Please help me to identify the problem. Thanks!
BSOD-loves-me BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 03-03-2012 02:36 PM
Intermittent BSODS on Dell Vostro
I don't get extremely detailed into BSOD checking, so I'll leave this one up to you pros. Dell Vostro 1510, originally Windows Vista Home Premium, Upgraded to Windows 7 Ultimate (for bitlocker usage). Ran MS compatibility report prior to upgrade, all lights were green (save the usual uninstall...
mjones1 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 01-16-2012 08:19 AM
BSOD, atikmpag.sys
Hi! Since I installed Win7 on my new computersystem, i get these BSOD every first time on a day i start my computer. first some specs OS - Windows 7 Ultimate x86 Windows 7 Ultimate OEM 1/2 year
emddummi BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 03-06-2011 02:55 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts