Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Mac Support

User Tag List

External blu ray writer doesn't work!?

This is a discussion on External blu ray writer doesn't work!? within the Mac Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi i bought an external writer for my imac (late 2013) a few months ago. Initially it burnt one or


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-03-2015, 01:53 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
OS: XP SP3, Mac OS X 10.5.4



Hi i bought an external writer for my imac (late 2013) a few months ago. Initially it burnt one or two discs. Then it fails twice. I haven't had much time to investigate since but came to try again tonight and it failed again! Discs are expensive and i don't expect this to happen anyway. It came with a usb cable and another one which is usb on one side and goes into a dc 5v input on the drive. It says it is usb 3.0 and apparently had a Panasonic drive inside (i think). I could have a look for the Amazon product page if you need me to?

Anyway does anyone know what is going on? Should i not use the power cable with the USB one?

I include the error notification which came up after it had got to 2% of the burn. I was using toast titanium 12 on el capitan. Also i noticed that the box to run a simulation is greyed out which i thought was strange but I'm not sure if this is normal because it's an external drive? The info for the drive days that it can (test write) which sounds like a simulation mode capability?

All help is greatly appreciated.

Steve
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1446587232764.jpeg
Views:	75
Size:	98.8 KB
ID:	259874   Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1446587436501.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	209.9 KB
ID:	259882   Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1446587488664.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	249.5 KB
ID:	259890  

steveyg777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-03-2015, 07:22 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,529
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


You need to use the units power adapter. The USB port will not put out enough power by itself.
Also in the Recorder Settings, choose the Slowest possible write speed for the media This will be the only way to avoid burn fails.
Also, External Blu-Ray burners require a USB 3.0 connection, (blue ends) not the standard USB 2.0 which are far slower.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 11-04-2015, 02:01 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
OS: XP SP3, Mac OS X 10.5.4


Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
You need to use the units power adapter. The USB port will not put out enough power by itself.
Also in the Recorder Settings, choose the Slowest possible write speed for the media This will be the only way to avoid burn fails.
Also, External Blu-Ray burners require a USB 3.0 connection, (blue ends) not the standard USB 2.0 which are far slower.
Thanks for the advice. However it is a blue ended usb cable and the other cable that goes to the power is the one it came with that fits from another usb port to a dc 5v port on the burner. The burner claims speeds of 6x writing although i only have 4x discs. If i have to use 2x then is it safe in saying this product is not for for purpose?
steveyg777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-04-2015, 02:13 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
OS: XP SP3, Mac OS X 10.5.4


I just looked up usb village and Wikipedia days it carries 5 volts which is the required amount for the burner. I don't get why is dropping out. Not sure if toast isn't up to the job or my imac?
steveyg777 is offline  
Old 11-04-2015, 03:06 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
OS: XP SP3, Mac OS X 10.5.4


This is the product i bought :

https://www.ebay.co.uk/ulk/itm/271413633753
steveyg777 is offline  
Old 11-04-2015, 07:12 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,529
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
External Blu-Ray burners require a USB 3.0 connection, (blue ends) not the standard USB 2.0 which are far slower.
You need a USB 3.0 port on your computer (blue ends) not just from the drive, if you only have the standard USB 2.0 it will be too slow and the burn will fail.
I have found that drives with USB power connections usually do not get enough power from the computer. I have found that a device should have it's own power adapter.
If the software will allow you to burn at 1X you can try that, but again it will fail if you only have USB 2.0 ports.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 11-05-2015, 07:46 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
OS: XP SP3, Mac OS X 10.5.4


My imac only had usb 3 ports so shouldn't be a problem. Can you recommend a power supply for this drive please?
steveyg777 is offline  
Old 11-05-2015, 01:28 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,529
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


A power adapter for a Panasonic external Blu-Ray player would come from Panasonic. Contact them or ask their support: Support
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell 630 wireless problems
I was useing my 630 laptop when it suddendly stopped seeing the wireless conection. I have another laptop(Toshiba) that works perfect with the same wireless. I am useing windows 7 and have tried reset in the explorer tools andhave flushed the dns server. please help thanks
taxidermyone Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 12 10-19-2012 04:25 PM
Slow Startup
Hi, While having a trawl through my system this morning (raining, nothing else appealing to do) I discovered the situation depicted in the attached snip. I assume that this means that all the items listed in Start Menu/Programs will start when I start my system? Could explain why it's best to...
Crossy Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 106 03-27-2012 03:37 PM
Blu ray region unlocking help needed
Hello and nice to meet you . I have a problem with my sony vaio laptop. I bought a blu ray disk which is region A where my drive is region B . (I live in Greece ) Is there any way to bypass the locked blu ray ? It can't be recognised by the laptop drive which is (i assume) region B only. It...
eru777 Other Hardware Support 1 06-09-2011 04:48 PM
failed system restore ate 6GB
Hello :wave: Yesterday I applied some Windows updates to my Win 7 64-bit drive via Windows Update and then was having connectivity issues, so attempted a System Restore to the most recent restore point (which was partway through the updating process). It took a good while, at least 20 min, and...
dandibear Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 8 01-31-2011 02:58 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts