Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Mac Support

User Tag List

Do I Have The Correct Display Cable?

This is a discussion on Do I Have The Correct Display Cable? within the Mac Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a macbook, and I purchase this cable So I could use my HDTV as a monitor. The OS


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-03-2017, 03:01 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
spirittoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 430
OS: Win7 64 Bit Ultimate

My System

Arrow

I have a macbook, and I purchase this cable So I could use my HDTV as a monitor. The OS X is version 10.7.5 ... 2.4 GHz Intel core 2 duo ... 2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM ... this is a 2008 model.

The cable doesn't fit in the port that has an icon that looks like a screen, but it will fit in the port that has a Y looking symbol, but the tv doesn't see it. The ad stated it would work with my machine. Am I doing something wrong, or is this the wrong cable and what is the correct one if it isn't? Thank you for reading my post.
spirittoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-04-2017, 01:39 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


2008 Macbooks do not use the Thunderbolt display cable that you bought, they use the Mini DVI https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fro...cable&_sacat=0
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 11-04-2017, 11:04 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
spirittoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 430
OS: Win7 64 Bit Ultimate

My System


Thanks for the link ... is the cable I have now good for anything?
spirittoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-04-2017, 12:25 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Yes, it is good for all modern Macs with Thunderbolt Display ports.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a dvi splitter cable to provide extended display
My customer's Dell Vostro 220 had an nVidia graphics card - the product ID is CN-0N4079-69861, not sure of the exact nVidia model no. - with a DMS-59 connector, hooked up to two monitors with a Molex splitter cable - single DMS-59 at the card end, DVI at each of the monitor ends. This enabled him...
smackenzie Video Card Support 5 11-20-2012 09:13 AM
Copper thieves battled with new anti-theft telecoms cable
The epidemic of telecom cable thefts has prompted a US company to develop a new design that drastically cuts down the copper content in a bid to deter metal thieves. The GroundSmart Copper Clad Steel cable is probably the most radical solution yet devised to copper theft in that it removes...
Glaswegian Computer Security News 2 01-20-2012 06:59 PM
[SOLVED] Display Port Cable
Hi Everyone. I've gone and bought myself 3 monitors for an eyefinity setup but at least one of them requires display port. Does anyone know of any cables that they can recommend? Are the cheap cables as good as the expensive ones or are they of much poorer quality, etc? Thanks!
deviess Other Hardware Support 4 01-15-2012 09:50 AM
not your ordinary Display issue!
Hello guys and let me begin by saying thanks for taking a look at this! ^.^ I am a fairly decent tech work with computer 24/7 got certs and such...so know I'm not some idiot here ^.- so feel free to not dim things down for me So I have a laptop I'm working on...would boot into windows fine...
metalfiiish Laptop Support 3 09-01-2011 08:40 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts