Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Mac Support

User Tag List

Confused about direct internet connection and...? Please help

This is a discussion on Confused about direct internet connection and...? Please help within the Mac Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I connected my first MacBook Pro wirelessly to my home wifi. All is good. BUT, do I need to get


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-05-2017, 04:01 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
lennonforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Purgatory
Posts: 324
OS: Win 10



I connected my first MacBook Pro wirelessly to my home wifi. All is good. BUT, do I need to get a wire to plug into the computer to make a wired internet connection?

I hope I am explaining this well

The old computer , a PC, had wifi and had a wire connection from the Netgear wireless router to the computer.

Do I need to do this for the Mac??? Thank you
lennonforever is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-05-2017, 04:14 PM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,982
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Can use wi-fi or ethernet but some report Bluetooth slowdown with wi-fi.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 04-05-2017, 04:32 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


You only need one internet connection to any computer.
As stated, You have the choice with your PC and with the Macbook Pro to connect via an Ethernet cable OR Wireless. you don't need both.
The Ethernet cable will probably be just slightly faster internet but you won't be mobile, you will be tied to the cable, which is why you use wireless.
If you are using your Macbook on a desk next to the Router, then a cable is fine, but if you want to use it in other places in your house, or walk around, you would use wireless connection.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-05-2017, 06:21 PM   #4
Networking Team |Tech
 
DBCooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 4,117
OS: Windows 10



Hi there,

You can access the internet EITHER via wi-fi connection or ethernet connection(wired). You don't need both. Hope this helps.

Hope everything works out well for you.
__________________
Dan Cooper ---> Nov. 24, 1971 + Flight 305 = $200,000.


DBCooper is offline  
Old 04-06-2017, 05:09 AM   #5
Troubled
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
OS: window 7



NO need to connect you internet connection with wire because you have connected your cmacbook pro with home wifi device.

Hope this answer of your question..
johnparker03 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts