Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Mac Support

User Tag List

Check for and remove remote Monitoring Software

This is a discussion on Check for and remove remote Monitoring Software within the Mac Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I work as a software developer at a small company and I was recently informed by my boss that our

Closed Thread

Old 05-29-2017, 02:30 PM   #1
Registered Member

Evil

I work as a software developer at a small company and I was recently informed by my boss that our tech guy snuck into the dev office and did "something" to my computer while i was away. I know that the owner of the company has installed monitoring software on all of the PC computers in the office so i suspect that he did the same thing to mine (or tried to). How to i go about finding this software and removing it if it exists?

Note: i'm on a Macbook pro, Sierra 10.12.4 and i have access to the admin/root account.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-29-2017, 02:48 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast

If it's a company owned machine, they can install whatever they wish. You trying to remove it could cost yourself your job.
Old 05-29-2017, 03:11 PM   #3
Registered Member

I’m not asking about how this will affect my job. I’m a salaried employee with over a decade of experience and in my opinion I should not be judged by whether or not i want to look at a few cat pics on pinterest while i’m sitting at my desk but rather on the quality of my output.

Frankly i find this practice very offensive and as i live in one of the best places on the planet to be software developer and my resume is impressive i’m sure i will have no problem finding another position at a more progressive company right across town if worse comes to worse.

What i am asking though is whether or not they actually did anything. I need to know if i should be angry or not. does that make sense?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-02-2017, 12:22 PM   #4