Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Mac Support

User Tag List

Cannot access hard disk in recovery

This is a discussion on Cannot access hard disk in recovery within the Mac Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi I have a macbook pro retina 2014 with Yosemite. I wanted to allocate a part of the HD to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-12-2015, 11:44 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3
OS: OSX



Hi

I have a macbook pro retina 2014 with Yosemite. I wanted to allocate a part of the HD to Windows using bootcamp. That didn't go smoothly and I rebooted in recovery after making a back up using Time Machine. In Disk Utility I clicked on 'repair data' under 'first aid' after selecting Macintosh hard disk as I read that this would enable me to do a clean split of the HD after the reboot. After that, I used the 'restore from time machine backup' option. My mac is able to find the backup (which i saved on an external usb) but cannot find the harddisk anymore. It unsuccessfuly keeps on searching for a destination disk. Does anyone know how to enable mac to 'find' the hard disk? Did I remove this link by repairing the data?

As I got stuck I wanted to reinstall OSX (i have no DVD so downloading through internet) but I can't install it on the hard disk because it's locked. I've read online that I can unlock the hard disk by using the partition option under Disk Utility but all buttons (eg options or partionion layout) are grey.

Thanks for your help
pjmadrid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-12-2015, 01:45 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,548
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


If the Mac HDD shows up in Disk Utilities on the left panel, highlight it Under First Aid Repair the Permissions. Then Verify Disk.
If you still have problems, download Disk Warrior and create a Bootable CD. Boot off of the newly created CD and run the Diagnostic.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 09-12-2015, 11:14 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3
OS: OSX



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
If the Mac HDD shows up in Disk Utilities on the left panel, highlight it Under First Aid Repair the Permissions. Then Verify Disk.
If you still have problems, download Disk Warrior and create a Bootable CD. Boot off of the newly created CD and run the Diagnostic.
I can see Mac HD at the left but there is no line below it (maybe the HD's should be listed under Mac HD). Anyway I cant select repair the permissions because it is grey
pjmadrid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-12-2015, 11:49 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3
OS: OSX



btw, I tried to unlock my hard disk using the terminal

It doesn't recognise the command sudo, or even when i type /usr/bin/sudo I get the message 'no such file or directory'

I don't think this is a good sign
pjmadrid is offline  
Old 09-13-2015, 06:10 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,548
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


No, this isn't a good sign. On another Mac, download Disk Warrior of Onyx. Create a bootable CD or USB with either program and boot from the media and run the Diagnostic tests on the HDD.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot uninstall spyhunter
I tried using DDS to post logs but keep timing out with it. I had a copy of the Ukash virus which I managed to get rid of, however then attempted to use Spyhunter just to make sure but now cannot uninstall it. Computer runs ok.
scudo Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 13 07-23-2015 05:22 PM
Trouble Getting ISO To Thumb Drive
Acer Aspire M1641 Vista Premium SP2 32 bit I have been trying to put Windows10_TechnicalPreview_x32_EN-US_9926.iso on a thumb drive, using the latest version of Rufus. I got an error message while using two perfectly good drives. After getting the error message when trying with a third drive,...
likekinds Removable Media Drives 79 02-19-2015 03:05 PM
Is my Hard drive failing?
So i'm constantly getting the error message: "Cyclic redundancy error detected" When torrenting files. It has happened with at least 4 or 5 torrents in recent times. I read online that this might be the sign of my HD failing. So i did an online analysis using speedfan and this is...
Mta88 Hard Drive Support 3 08-02-2013 07:36 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts