Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Win 98 & ME Support

User Tag List

Error reading fixed disk ... reformatting

This is a discussion on Error reading fixed disk ... reformatting within the Win 98 & ME Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I was wondering if there is anyway to format an old computer I have after having done these steps and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-20-2006, 07:12 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
OS:



I was wondering if there is anyway to format an old computer I have after having done these steps and then getting: "error reading fixed disk"

<hr>
A:\>fdisk

"Do you wish…?" [Y] enter

Delete partition? [3] enter

Delete primary? [1] enter

WARNING: "What primary…?" [1] enter

"Enter volume label" [ (left blank) ] enter

"Are you sure? [Y] enter

Hit "escape"

"Create DOS partition?" [1] enter

"Create primary [1] enter

"Max space?" [Y] enter

pressed the restart button

but after i type in 'A:\>format c:' or 'A:\>format c: /s' it gives me 'invalid drive specification'

then when i try fdisk again it gives me 'error reading fixed disk'

<hr>


is there anything i can do and/or what should I do after this
JustHelpMe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-20-2006, 07:22 PM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
OS:


oh yeah im trying to install windows 95. but really all im trying to do is get the IP address from the computer
JustHelpMe is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 02:03 PM   #3
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


can you see the disk in the bios



dai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-21-2006, 02:07 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
OS:


how do I go about doing that? do I go bios settings and what should I be looking for
JustHelpMe is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 02:12 PM   #5
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


look in the bios and see that you can see whatever drives you have listed in there,if you cannot see it listed
it sounds like the bios cannot see it
check the ide cable has not worked loose
try a new ide cable



dai is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 02:24 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
OS:


i dunno if this is what your looking for but under standard cmos setup i see this:
Primary Master: User, Size 3249, cyls 787, head 128, precomp 0, landz 6295, sector 63, mode LBA
Primary Slave: none
Secondary Master: none
Secondary Slave: none

I also went under IDE HDD auto detection and pretty much got the same thing as above, except the the modes for the none slave and secondaries are Normal.


now where are these ide cables your talking about?
JustHelpMe is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 02:30 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
OS:


would that be the cdrom cables inside cause everytime I open it up it closes right away
JustHelpMe is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 02:35 PM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


it is seeing the drive it should also be listing your cdrom in there as well
this will give you an idea
https://freepctech.com/pc/001/install..._devices.shtml



dai is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 03:07 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
OS:


well my c drive is read when i select: 1. load nec ide cdrom driver

when i start my computer im given these 5 options
I've been given the options at the beginning
1. load nec ide cdrom driver
2. load toshiba ide cdrom driver
3. load hitachi dvd cdrom driver
4. load scsi cdrom driver (adaptec)
5. no cdrom support

but when i select 1 and format c it says that I cant format the network drive.



https://www.techsupportforum.com/showthread.php?t=122222
JustHelpMe is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 03:38 PM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
OS:


c:\>setup
response: CDR101: Not ready reading drive C
Abort, Retry, Fail?
JustHelpMe is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 03:39 PM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
OS:


a:\>format c:
response: cannot format a network drive

a:\>format c: /s
response: cannot format a network drive
JustHelpMe is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 03:56 PM   #12
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


try clearing the drive first with killdisk
https://www.download.com/3000-2092-10188745.html



dai is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 04:06 PM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
OS:


well for some strange reason on this main awesome computer of mine, i wasnt blessed with an A drive. so how would i go about having the cdrom on my other computer (one im fixing) read IF POSSIBLE the killdisk
JustHelpMe is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 04:12 PM   #14
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


turn it into an iso
dban comes as an iso file
https://dban.sourceforge.net/



dai is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 04:21 PM   #15
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
OS:


so what is the command to read the cdrom?
JustHelpMe is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 04:27 PM   #16
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
OS:


yea DLing DBan is a no go for me. cause its not Dling anything and not finding the page either way
JustHelpMe is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 05:02 PM   #17
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


https://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/d...se_mirror=kent
this link works takes awhile to start though



dai is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 05:23 PM   #18
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
OS:


ah screw it i guess i'll find some cheap close by computer repair shop cause this sucks
JustHelpMe is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 05:29 PM   #19
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


that's computers sometimes you think good half an hour and finished and 8 hrs later you feel like throwing it out of the window



dai is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 05:33 PM   #20
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
OS:


well i want the data from it so I never in my mind wanted to throw it out. but a computer repair guy just told me that the harddrive is fried so i'm going to look around for the cheapest diagnostic people

thanks a lot dai for your help
JustHelpMe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts