Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Win 98 & ME Support

User Tag List

A question about a file...

This is a discussion on A question about a file... within the Win 98 & ME Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys how are ya?? I have no idea what the file is...... Have you ever seen an extention __-


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-24-2020, 07:35 PM   #1
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 651
OS: Windows


Hey guys how are ya??

I have no idea what the file is...... Have you ever seen an extention __- thats what it is 8 lines and then the extention "__-"

________.__-

Its 0 bytes and there is no file just that marker....


Pic 1: https://img.techpowerup.org/200525/capture.png
Pic 2: https://img.techpowerup.org/200525/capture3.png

The creation date was 9/28/15 11:59pm

How do you delete a pointer in the file system with no actual file to it?? (Maybe thats why I cant delete it,it cant find the file it supposedly goes to)

I have a program called DELETE DOCTOR and I have tried deleting it by UNC name which didnt work (No Universal name as there is no file) I havent tried scheduling it with that program to delete the file on reboot though. I dont know if that will work because I think it will try to do it from DOS and according to DOS that file doesnt exist (The pointer doesnt even show up in dos (If I goto the system directory that "________.__-" file doesnt show up))


Its very strange............. Any help??


Thank you and god bless ya all!!!!
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-25-2020, 05:37 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,257
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


There are ways to restore System Files with 0 bytes and then deleting them, but if this isn't hurting anything, I'd leave it alone. Also, if it's an old OS, remember 8 line limit on name.

EDIT: One more thought. Did you ever run the DOS command undelete c:\windows\system\*.* /all? This could be the origin of where the "line dot line" originated.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 08:39 AM   #3
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,664
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



The underscore character "_" is a valid filename character. For example, get to a DOS/CMD prompt, type:
copy con ________.___
and press [Enter]. (Note: That filename is 8 underscore characters, a dot|period, and then another 3 underscore characters).

Press [F6], (and you'll see "^Z"), press [Enter] and DOS|CMD will respond a "1 file(s) copied." message.

Type:
dir ________.___
and press [Enter] -- (Note: That filename is 8 underscore characters, a dot|period, and then another 3 underscore characters) -- and DOS|CMD will respond with something like:

Code:
 Volume in drive D is WD WD1002FAEX (Black) 1TB HDD
 Volume Serial Number is 3668-1315

 Directory of D:\

05/25/20  11:15 AM                 0 ________.___
               1 File(s)              0 bytes
               0 Dir(s)  346,059,997,184 bytes free
(I.e., it is showing you that there is now a file named "________.___" with "0" bytes in it. To delete it, simply type:
del ________.___
and press [Enter] -- (Note: That filename is 8 underscore characters, a dot|period, and then another 3 underscore characters) -- That's it, the "________.___" file should be gone. To check type:
dir ________.___
and press [Enter] -- (Note: That filename is 8 underscore characters, a dot|period, and then another 3 underscore characters) -- and DOS|CMD will respond with something like:
Code:
Could Not Find D:\________.___
(or possibly with the old "file not found" message from years gone by.
SpywareDr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-25-2020, 07:52 PM   #4
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 651
OS: Windows


Thank you my friend..... When I goto DOS and goto the system directory and type copy ________.__- it says FILE NOT FOUND.... (In the system directory)

I can create the file ________.__- in dos but its not the same as that 0 byte entry...... (I can delete the one I created but the other one remains)

Its the strangest thing ever...... Thanx for your help guys!!
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 09:54 PM   #5
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,292
OS: Windows 10



Can you rename it?
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 11:33 PM   #6
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 651
OS: Windows


Nope cant do a thing with it.........

Cant rename,move or anything..............

I tried copying the system folder into another folder and as soon as it gets to the ________.__- file it says CANNOT COPY "________.__- FILE NOT FOUND" and it aborts the copy........

My system folder is 183MB (1406 files) it gets up to 13.8MB when copying before aborting saying that ___ file cant be found so it looks like its something screwed up in the file system? (It says there is a file there but there isnt)
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 12:07 AM   #7
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,292
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Nope cant do a thing with it.........

Cant rename,move or anything..............

I tried copying the system folder into another folder and as soon as it gets to the ________.__- file it says CANNOT COPY "________.__- FILE NOT FOUND" and it aborts the copy........

My system folder is 183MB (1406 files) it gets up to 13.8MB when copying before aborting saying that ___ file cant be found so it looks like its something screwed up in the file system? (It says there is a file there but there isnt)
Definitely a filesystem error. It's been a while since I encountered a ghost file. A filesystem check is a good idea, it just might clean things up.
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 12:28 AM   #8
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 651
OS: Windows


Well what I have done so far is created a new folder and manually copied every file into the new folder..... So I have all 1405 files in a new folder called SYSTEM2 and I put it in my Windows directory........ I know I have to reboot to DOS to change the name of that folder to SYSTEM (and the original to something else) but Im worried it might screw something up.... All the files are there except the ________.__- file........

I dunno if it will let me delete the system directory though. (Its not marked as a system folder so it might)

Maybe what Corday said is the best to do?? (Its not doing anything just let it stay)


Would be nice to fix the problem though.. Thank you for your time my friend!! -- Maybe we can get this corrected!!
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 12:40 AM   #9
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,292
OS: Windows 10



Something will definitely get screwed. Best to just ignore it. Have you done a filesystem check yet?
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 06:30 AM   #10
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,664
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Note: The command was:

copy con ________.___

not:

copy ________.___

--


To delete it, try the command

del _*.*
SpywareDr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 09:42 PM   #11
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 651
OS: Windows


Nope when I try del _*.* it says file not found...

How would I do a filesystem check,run Scan disk from dos?? (Its not seen from DOS so Im not sure if it would work anyway)

Very confusing arent they? (Computers?)
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 09:54 PM   #12
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,292
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Nope when I try del _*.* it says file not found...

How would I do a filesystem check,run Scan disk from dos?? (Its not seen from DOS so Im not sure if it would work anyway)

Very confusing arent they? (Computers?)
Run CHKDSK /F

See https://www.computerhope.com/chkdskh.htm
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 05:39 AM   #13
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 651
OS: Windows


Thank you buddy.. I have tried using chkdsk before and it doesnt let me,it says to use scandisk instead.... When I use scandisk it does not fix that error.... (However I havent tried it from dos since this file came)

Quote:
CHKDSK has NOT checked this drive for errors.
You must use SCANDISK to detect and fix errors on this drive.

Volume Serial Number is 177C-13F1

13,328,912 kilobytes total disk space
12,636,920 kilobytes free

8,192 bytes in each allocation unit
1,666,114 total allocation units on disk
1,579,615 available allocation units on disk

655,360 total bytes memory
615,168 bytes free

Instead of using CHKDSK, try using SCANDISK. SCANDISK can reliably detect
and fix a much wider range of disk problems.
Ill try scandisk from dos and let ya know what happens...

Is there anyway to get Win98se to let you use chkdsk??? (Why is it even there if it wont run??)
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 07:36 AM   #14
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,257
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Check disc replaced scan disc later on. SCANDISK is the correct one for Windows 98SE.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 07:42 AM   #15
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,664
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Temporarily boot the computer from some flavor of a Linux Live CD/USB and delete the file.
SpywareDr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 08:44 AM   #16
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 651
OS: Windows


I ran scandisk and it said NO ERRORS FOUND (File system was checked)

I dont understand........


Thank you guys for trying...

CORDAY: That may be so but is there a way to get CHECKDISK to run?? (I mean why did they put it on 98se if they werent gonna let you use it??)

Anyway of getting it to run??
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 08:47 AM   #17
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,664
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Temporarily boot the computer from some flavor of a Linux Live CD/USB and delete the file.


It could also probably be deleted using QBASIC.
SpywareDr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 09:25 AM   #18
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,257
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post

CORDAY: That may be so but is there a way to get CHECKDISK to run?? (I mean why did they put it on 98se if they werent gonna let you use it??)

Anyway of getting it to run??
I thought it wasn't included until Windows ME. Anyway, Scan Disk is what the recommended solution was from original DOS until then.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 01:27 PM   #19
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 651
OS: Windows


Thank you SpywareDr,Ill see if I can get Qbasic.....

CORDAY: I wonder if the WinME version of chkdsk will work on 98?? (The ME defrag works on 98 however it doesnt do as good a job so I went back to the 98 one years ago)
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 02:56 PM   #20
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,257
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Second thought. I had chkdsk on 2000 but not ME.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« Soundcard Question | - »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts