Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Black Ops goes black and unresponsive after intro.

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Black Ops goes black and unresponsive after intro. within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello everyone! I recently purchased Call of Duty: Black Ops on Steam but I'm having a hard time getting it


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-09-2011, 11:49 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Reclusiarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 22
OS: Windows 8.1


Send a message via MSN to Reclusiarch
Question

Hello everyone!

I recently purchased Call of Duty: Black Ops on Steam but I'm having a hard time getting it working. My troubles are as follows:

I start up the game and enter the menu, no problems. I choose a new campaign and the intro starts playing. After the part where Mason says: "Castro... we went in to kill Castro." everything turns black. At first I thought it was just loading, but after a few minutes I had to alt+tab out. There were no error messages, but Call of Duty: Black Ops was labeled as unresponsive in the Task Manager.

I've done some research into this and it seems that Call of Duty: Black Ops have had its share of freeze problems. If I understand things correctly there were a freeze problem at launch where everything locked up as the game started up (this is not the problem I'm having, however). I have checked the internet for more specific help regarding my particular problem and while I've seen quite a few people who have the same problem, I have no yet been able to find any solution that works for me.


I have done the following:
Reinstalled the game (although it seems some local files are still saved on the hard drive?)
Made sure I have the latest version of DirectX
Made sure I have the latest version of the drivers to my Graphics card.
I've tried running the DXSETUP from the Black Ops folder (I guess this is the same thing as checking for the latest version of Direct X).
I've tried this: COD: Black Ops Black Screen Solved - Free device drivers Download (Basically, changing some numbers in the config file).

As of yet none of the things have worked. Since there's no error messages, I understand if this is something you guys might not be able to help me with. Perhaps someone had this problem and got it working, though?

Anyways, if you guys have any aid to offer I would greatly appreciate it!


Here are my computer specifications:
CPU Type: DualCore Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, 3000 MHz
System Memory: 4096 MB
Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (1024 MB)
Operating system: Windows 7 64 bit

Thank you,

David
Reclusiarch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-09-2011, 10:14 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Reclusiarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 22
OS: Windows 8.1


Send a message via MSN to Reclusiarch

Hmm.. Seems I've fixed it, somehow (not that I've really done anything). Perhaps it was just a very long load time!
Reclusiarch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts