Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

User Tag List

How to I run Mods with a game purchased on Steam?

This is a discussion on How to I run Mods with a game purchased on Steam? within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm having trouble running mods with my Steam version of Act of War: High Treason. Whenever I install/run a mod,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-10-2012, 03:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 27
OS: Windows 7



I'm having trouble running mods with my Steam version of Act of War: High Treason. Whenever I install/run a mod, the game will run but the mod will not.

I've noticed that the mods are located in a different directory in the Start menu, so this may have something to do with it - ex. for AoW HT mods, they show up under - "Start - Atari - Act of War: High Treason - Mods".

However the Steam version of AOW HT appears under "Start - Steam - Act of War: High Treason".

Is there any workaround to get mods running on a Steam game. I'm disappointed and thinking of just purchasing the CD version at this point despite having wasted 20$ already (given the other glitches with the Steam version of the game, such as the retail patch for Act of War causing the game to no longer run).
GuitarZeroZ312 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-10-2012, 04:30 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 157
OS: Win7 64bit



What type of mod is it? a complete overhaul or a little change?
tylerc is offline  
Old 03-10-2012, 05:10 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 27
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerc View Post
What type of mod is it? a complete overhaul or a little change?
Small changes. The retail version of Act of War High Treason included naval units, but there was no AI support for them so they were only available in multiplayer.

The mod I'm trying to install ads AI support for naval units and allows them for use in single player skirmish mode.
GuitarZeroZ312 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-13-2012, 02:36 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
bwsealirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,281
OS: Vista Home Premium sp2, Ubuntu desktop 10.10, puppy linux, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

My System


Steam games should in theory be the same as retail games, you may have to direct any mod installers to the steam installation e.g C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\ common\ gamename.

How does the mod work? (e.g files in program files or an installer), it may be different.
bwsealirl is offline  
Old 03-14-2012, 08:02 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Carpetfizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 958
OS: Windows 7, Mac OSX Lion, Windows 8 Consumer Preview



Some game mods such as Skyrim are officially supported by the Steam Workshop, in which they are filtered and they install themselves. Others, you may have to do it yourself by manually placing files in certain folders and such. As far as I know it is possible to mod games on Steam, as I have done so for Garry's Mod and L4D2. However, it won't let you use or install mods which can affect the multiplayer portion of the game, unless a certain server supports it.
__________________

Carpetfizz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD on dell laptop
hey, I get the BSOD and I would like some help I have windows 7, service pack 1, im kind of new to working on computers on my own, any help would be appreciated just ask for information from my computer and tell me how to access it and I will provide it to fix this this problem.
journeyman89 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 8 03-16-2012 10:39 AM
Hello To the Community
Hello all...been seeing this site for a few weeks finally decided to join..glad to be here.
S.h.a.d.y Introductions 9 03-13-2012 05:13 AM
[SOLVED] power supply to mother board help
hello everyone, new to the site and hopefully someone on here can help me out. i have a gateway dx4822-01 model desktop and blew the power supply. i ordered a replacement power supply but cant remember what wires go where or even what wires i would be using. i tried gateway and didnt get...
carofchoice RAM and Power Supply Support 19 03-11-2012 02:08 PM
issue with home network
My roommate has made himself network administrator of our home network and is using it to leverage favors out of me. He has some how band my computer from the network so that even though I know the password I still can't connect. I need a way to change how the network identifies my computer so that...
Perspicacity Networking Support 1 03-10-2012 02:59 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts