Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Microsoft Office support

User Tag List

Excel 2016 - Additional Spreadsheet Opening By Default

This is a discussion on Excel 2016 - Additional Spreadsheet Opening By Default within the Microsoft Office support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm using Office 365 and have just upgraded to Office 2016. Now, if I double-click on an excel spreadsheet from


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-10-2015, 07:53 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



I'm using Office 365 and have just upgraded to Office 2016.

Now, if I double-click on an excel spreadsheet from within Windows explorer, the file opens, but also a second, blank instance of Excel opens (no worksheets, just an instance of Excel)

T
tomohawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-10-2015, 08:08 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,031
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Double click from file Explorer is the correct method of opening file. Might just be a quirk in your system and might go away, however slowing your mouse "Double Click Speed" might make a difference.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 12-15-2015, 02:28 AM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,555
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Right click the Excel sheet and click Open. do two Excel sheets open?
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-15-2015, 02:40 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Hi spunk.funk

Yes - 2 instances open.

I also had "pinned" some of my common files to a shortcut to excel (on my taksbar) and these also open 2 instances of excel. I've had to remove them.

The only way to get a single instance of excel is to open the app first, and then to select the required file from the list of "recent" files (provided it is on the list).

T
tomohawk is offline  
Old 12-15-2015, 02:49 AM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,555
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


And if you go to File/Open and choose your file does that work?
Go to File/Options/Advanced on the left panel/General on the right panel.
At Startup, open all files in... delete the contents this box.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 12-15-2015, 03:23 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Right-click and Open causes 2 instances of Excel

At Startup, open all files in...... the field is blank

T
tomohawk is offline  
Old 12-15-2015, 05:23 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: India
Posts: 260
OS: Windows 7



Please follow the below steps and this might work...

1. Please go to C:\Users\$$$$$$$\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Excel\XLSTART - $$$$$$$ is username

2. Right click on the personal.xlsb file and go to Properties.

3. Check the Hidden option and then apply/ok.

the personal file will be available for you but the second instance would not open

Thanks a ton!
vinod.vanukuru is offline  
Old 12-15-2015, 07:30 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks vinod.vanukuru

That has worked, but the "unhide" functionality in "View" tab is now unavailable.

T
tomohawk is offline  
Old 12-15-2015, 08:40 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



I have changed the status to "Unsolved" again, as the solution below has an unanticipated consequence.

I am unable to run a macro, which was assigned to "Personal"

T
tomohawk is offline  
Old 12-22-2015, 11:17 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



I found the following and would like to try it, but I need step-by-step instructions. Can anyone help?

"This can occur due to corruption in a personal macro workbook (%appData%\Microsoft\Excel\XLSTART\), and removing PERSONAL.XLSB from this folder caused the problem to go away.

I had to export each of my macro modules to another folder, then after removing PERSONAL.XLSB, record a new macro stored in my "Personal Macro Workbook" (which recreated PERSONAL.XLSB), then on the Developer toolbar, click "Visual Basic" and import the macro modules again.

All the shortcut keys and descriptions were maintained, but more importantly, I didn't get a second copy of Excel opening every time I opened a worksheet from Explorer.
"
tomohawk is offline  
Old 12-23-2015, 09:23 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



Thank you tomohawk - I thought I was the only one having this damn issue! It doesn't occur with any other Office software. My computer is less than a week old and people are already saying I have a registry error. I also reinstalled Office after day 2, but to no avail. What the hell Microsoft?

Here's where I originally posted my issue: Excel: Opening Two Files With One Blank | Windows 10 Forums

One of the guys had me editing the registry, but I have no "AltStartup" in the pane.

I've done the appdata, file --> advanced...nothing works! So frustrating. This has never happened with any previous version or computer.

EDIT: There's also some discussion at https://community.spiceworks.com/top...file-one-blank, but I haven't received any replies to my latest comment.
dcowboys20 is offline  
Old 12-24-2015, 01:49 AM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Hi dcowboys20

I got onto Microsoft support via a chat session. The "agent" walked me through a re-install of office online (Programs and Features, Right-Click on Office and select "Change"). Of course, he was most likely following a script and the change did not solve the problem.

The re-install required a reboot, so he gave me a link to reconnect with him afterwards. Of course the link did not work. The last place you want to go for a solution to a Microsoft problem is, of course, Microsoft!!!

T
tomohawk is offline  
Old 12-24-2015, 11:28 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



Exactly! I'm not reinstalling any Office software again - I did that a few days ago and it did not work either. There's got to be a somewhat simple solution for this - it's such a "minor" bug that I can't imagine there isn't something out there. I guess we will keep looking unless someone else has an idea...
dcowboys20 is offline  
Old 12-24-2015, 11:38 AM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Hopefully!

Happy Christmas to you and to all that have offered their support and advice in 2015.

Tommy
tomohawk is offline  
Old 12-25-2015, 01:57 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



So, maybe because it's Christmas or something...but now it's working. I just opened an Excel file and no blank workbook opened with it. I'm not sure what I did other than run a CCleaner registry check, but I didn't even fix those issues before trying to open the Excel file. Maybe there was a Windows update last night? No idea if this will last, but will keep you updated. Wishing you luck as well.
dcowboys20 is offline  
Old 12-25-2015, 04:19 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



....and the problem is back! Haha this is getting hilarious now.
dcowboys20 is offline  
Old 12-28-2015, 09:11 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



So I finally got it fixed again and it was by removing the add-in RegressIt (RegressIt - Free Excel add-in for linear regression). Weird, does that mean it's probably not compatible with Excel 2016? Either way, this appears to be the problem.
dcowboys20 is offline  
Old 12-29-2015, 01:10 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
fiberstorejames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 30
OS: win7



that's very strange. better save all your files before you check and do something to fix it. is the second excel blank or with some ads? if there are ads, i think it 's caused by producers. you don't need to care about it.
fiberstorejames is offline  
Old 12-29-2015, 02:01 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
OS: Windows 7



Nope, no ads. It's a blank "Book1" worksheet. I've contacted the guy who created RegressIt and we're working through it now. Good call!
dcowboys20 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSODs on new install
OS - Windows 7 x64 What was original installed OS on system? OEM came with Vista, later upgraded to Windows 7 x86, recently to Windows 7 x64 full retail version Age of system (hardware) Main system was purchased 2007, DVD drives, motherboard original equipment. Two new HDD, Seagate...
KelvinF BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 03-21-2013 07:42 PM
How do I change the default settings of Excel?
Hi, The calculation settings for formulae are 'manual' every time I open a new Excel file. How do change the default settings so that every time I open Excel, the formulae calculations default is 'automatic'. In other words, On my computer's version of Excel, the default for formulae...
Kataangel Microsoft Office support 9 03-16-2011 12:22 AM
Excel 2007 hyperlinks freeze spreadsheet
I have Windows XP and Excel 2007. When I try to create a hyperlink to another Excel spreadsheet I get a message box with the name of the file I'm trying to link to and 'Some files can contain viruses or otherwise be harmful to your computer. It is important to be certain that this file is from a...
Nyman Microsoft Office support 5 03-14-2011 06:16 AM
Authentication prompt while opening Excel file in IE8
Hi Guys, While opening Excel or Word documents (deployed as ASP.Net application in IIS7) from intranet websites in IE8, we are seeing authentication prompt and after providing credentials the file is opening fine. Surprisingly if I cancel the authentication prompt, the file is still opening...
safap Internet Explorer & Edge Forum 1 01-27-2011 01:59 PM
Excel 2007 spreadsheet
I've got a strange one here. I upgraded a user from Office 2003 Pro to 2007 Pro. When the user open any spreadsheet, excel just sits there until you minimize the program. It will then maximize itself and show the spreadsheet. This does not happen you open excel to new blank spreadsheet. ...
sgundrum Microsoft Office support 0 01-20-2011 03:03 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts