Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer & Edge Forum

User Tag List

Process shows up, but IE doesn't open

This is a discussion on Process shows up, but IE doesn't open within the Internet Explorer & Edge Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Sometimes when I try to open up internet explorer, seemingly nothing will happen. Then if I check in the task


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-09-2007, 09:30 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
OS: Windows XP


Question

Sometimes when I try to open up internet explorer, seemingly nothing will happen. Then if I check in the task manager, it says that the process is running, but the actual Internet Explorer window itself doesn't open, and I can't figure out why it's doing that. Also, sometimes if I've had several IE windows open, it will freeze them or something, and I can't even open the task manager until I've closed most of them. Does anyone know why either of these things are happening? Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
El Bandito is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-09-2007, 10:38 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
MoonShadow_1AU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 148
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)



There are three main reasons why an IE process starts and cannot be found ....

1) The process is running embedded in another application. This can only be fixed by using the task manager to kill ALL IE processes, then it should start when you run it again.

2) Your computer has two monitors and IE is running on the one that is switched off (happens to me a lot).

3) IE remembers where your multiple monitors were when it last ran and does not check where they are when it starts. If you change the orientation of your monitors (move monitor 2 from the right of monitor 1 to the top of monitor 1) and IE opens in the global space off to the right instead of above the monitor.
MoonShadow_1AU is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 05:48 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
OS: Windows XP



well, I only have one monitor, but I am usually opening IE through a button on my wireless keyboard that uses a shortcut set by a program called iTouch, would that be considered running as an embedded program and therefore be the problem?
El Bandito is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2007, 05:55 AM   #4
TSF Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 15,079
OS: Windows 8.1



Hello ,
Have you tried not using the keyboard short cut?
And if you press Ctrl + Alt + Del and click on the tab process, is there anything there called IEXPLORE?
Go The Power is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Various Malware - Downloaders
Please help i have been trying unsuccessfully for the past two weeks to remove the various malware that has infected my other computer. It all started when the computer involved which is running Windows 98SE accidentally downloaded the drsmartload.exe virus. Since then i have had constant pop-ups...
Rabbit77 Resolved HJT Threads 14 03-28-2006 06:41 PM
random popup
Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1 Scan saved at 6:40:52 PM, on 3/12/2006 Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000) MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106) Running processes: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE...
generousjoe Inactive Malware Help Topics 9 03-14-2006 02:35 PM
urgent...adware n trojanhorse prob
hello...this is wat i get from hijackthis... pls do help me to solve da prob as soon as possible as i got asgmnt to rush to... this prob spoil my mood n i really worry this will affect my laptop performance in future... is this prob solveable or its better i reformat my laptop??? Logfile of...
meena Inactive Malware Help Topics 19 11-27-2005 12:55 AM
Need Help - Getting too many pop-ups and lock downs. HJT included
Hi there, My PC is crawling and IE not responding well due to many malware attacks I believe. I have run CW-Shredded, CLean-Up, Spysweeper and AD Aware SE Pro but still can't can't rid of viruses. Would you pls take a look at my log file , thank you in advance!! Running Wim XP Home SP2....
fdeaubonne Resolved HJT Threads 9 08-20-2005 12:53 PM
Websiteviewer-Please help
Websiteviewer porn dialer has found its way onto my computer. Please help. Here's my Hijack this log: Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.0 Scan saved at 4:14:51 PM, on 12/28/2004 Platform: Windows XP (WinNT 5.01.2600) MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000) Running processes:...
Cropduster Inactive Malware Help Topics 14 01-08-2005 05:09 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts