Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer & Edge Forum

User Tag List

IE7 - Cannot Access HTTPS Sites - Tried Everything.

This is a discussion on IE7 - Cannot Access HTTPS Sites - Tried Everything. within the Internet Explorer & Edge Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I cannot access any website that is HTTPS. This means, games, emails, banks, MSN! I've tried: Virus scanning System Restore


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-18-2009, 08:40 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
OS:


Evil

I cannot access any website that is HTTPS. This means, games, emails, banks, MSN!

I've tried:
Virus scanning
System Restore
Firefox
Registering IE Files
Changing Security Options
Reinstalling IE Settings (Advanced, Reset)
Cleaned Temp Files
Used ATF Cleaner to clean EVERYTHING
Registry Cleaned
Also checked System Date.
Proxy settings (None in use)
Checked 2.0 and 3.0 SSL settings.

Basicly everything besides removing IE.
But it also happens with firefox.

This is very annoying as I cannot access anything.
Any help is greatly welcomed :)

- Matt
Why2u is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2009, 10:15 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
AlphaWolf13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 64
OS: Windows 7 Beta



Can you ping out to any sites?
If none of the above has helped, and you can't access sites with FireFox either, it sounds like the issue isn't at the software level.
AlphaWolf13 is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 07:32 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
OS:



Yes, I can ping out to sites like Yahoo.com.
Because yahoo isn't an https site.
Still can't fix it.
Why2u is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2009, 08:30 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
OS:



I am having the exact same problem, I believe it has something to do with an automatic update from MS Vista, but going back to a restore point did not fix the problem, please post any solutions you may find and I will do the same.
jpassey is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 08:32 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
OS:



By the way, it has blocked more than just browsing to secure sites. I run software that is securely connected to Stock trading charts and my account and it has blocked access to that feed as well, so it is not just a browser problem.
jpassey is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 10:16 AM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
OS:



Would that software be connecting to an HTTPS to recieve that information?
Because MSN plus (Windows Live) messanger connects through an https connection when signing in, and I can't get on that either.
Why2u is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 11:15 AM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
OS:



I am having the same problems. They just started yesterday. I found another person with a similar problem here:

https://social.answers.microsoft.com/...c-6b9c74c96d31

But after trying their suggestions, I still didn't have any luck. I hope someone can help us out. I also have Windows 7 Beta installed on my hard drive and it doesn't have any problems at all so I know its not my hardware. And with this problem I can't check for new updates with Windows Update. This is SO FRUSTRATING!!!! I didn't realize how much SSL is used until this.
skytoastar is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 12:08 PM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
OS:



After talking with someone locally he suggested uninstalling the Vista security updates. So I did and it has fixed the problem so far, Here is what I did exactly.

Control Panel
Programs and features
On the left click "View installed updates"
then I removed the following security update:
KB961260 It was installed on my machine automatically on the 12th of Feb Then I let it restart the machine and Presto, everything works again.
I am trying to figure out how to turn off automatic updates so I can select to not install those specific updates when it tries to again.

Hope this helps.

jpassey is offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 12:24 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
AlphaWolf13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 64
OS: Windows 7 Beta



Thanks Jpassey, I'll have to remember this in the future for some people.
AlphaWolf13 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts