Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help

User Tag List

A "taskeng.exe" virus, or something even more sinister?

This is a discussion on A "taskeng.exe" virus, or something even more sinister? within the Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I've just created this account because I have a potentially serious problem that I believe may be a virus.

Closed Thread

Old 06-05-2017, 02:14 PM   #1
Registered Member

Exclamation

Hello, I've just created this account because I have a potentially serious problem that I believe may be a virus. I'm a software engineer for a financial corporation. Without going into excessive detail, a virus (I suppose spyware specifically) on my work computer could lead to very sensitive information being stolen.

Due to this, I can only work with established and reputable users at this forum.

I know there is a thread on a taskeng.exe malware issue from a while back, but my issue is a little bit of a different animal.

So allow me to start from the beginning. In high school I used to use a program called "SCAR Divi" to write programs (bots) to play video games for me. I loved making bots and exploiting vulnerabilities in games to cheat/hack my way to the top back in those days. Now come to today, I work full-time as a software engineer. I wanted to find a way to automate many of my tasks that are repetitive to speed up my day-to-day work.

So I looked up SCAR Divi and found the main site (https://scar-divi.com/) and downloaded it (version 3.41.00). As I ran the program, it was slow, failed often, many features were no longer functioning. It was like the fast reliable version from the past had been corrupted or something. I uninstalled the program/deleted the files and went on with life, giving up on making automation scripts.