Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Help with my new PC

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Help with my new PC within the Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So I just made my new PC today. MSI Gaming 970 motherboard MSI R9 390 8GB 16GB RAM AMD FX8320


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-03-2015, 03:03 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 8.1


Confused

So I just made my new PC today. MSI Gaming 970 motherboard
MSI R9 390 8GB
16GB RAM
AMD FX8320 8 core clocked at 4ghz
EVGA 600B PSU
Adata 32gb SSD (boot drive)
WD green 2TB HDD
Everything went well putting it together but when it was time to turn it on thats when the problems started.
1. I set up windows 8.1 and installed the graphics drivers but every time my pc restarts or switches off and on again the drivers resets as if I never downloaded them and my monitor only displays a 800x600 resolution.

2. If I press restart or shut down my monitor switches off like normal and says "No display found" but my system fans and power light and gpu lights stay on as if they are still on. The only way I can switch it off is by holding the power button.

3. I formatted my WD Green HDD and now my disk management says this

Gyazo - e11d0637f91f108572e4786e8b811966.png

So ive apparently got 1.8TB free...but this is what I get when I try to install GTA IV this is the message I get

Gyazo - 46f1afafdc84bd41d19419cf54dba1f0.png
Gyazo - fdf72a995bb9abc3e377147d1bec369e.png

Here is my GPU-Z and CPU-Z screenshots if this helps.
Gyazo - de981adfab1880bfebb6039169993988.png
Gyazo - 2ddc19c64b4601163daf08f92afaa91a.png

I know its a lot to ask but can someone please help me with this I would be very grateful.
RoryP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2015, 06:44 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,480
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Hi and Welcome to TSF!

1. Where are you getting the driver from? Are you using AMD CCC to download it?

2. This may be a Windows issue. Run SFC /scannow from Command Prompt to see if it finds anything.

3. That unallocated space is not being used on your hard drive. You need to allocate it by right clicking that partition.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 07-04-2015, 02:34 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 8.1



1. I was downloading them from them AMD website and I fixed it all i had to do was re download them and it went to normal 1080p but I couldnt move my applications outside the space of 800x600 so i went into settings and the screen resolution was still on 800x600, so all I had to do was change settings :/

2. SFC /scannow didnt seem to find anything

3. Gyazo - bec49bf720d220d91ae5ab469dceee41.png
That is what disk managment is saying now but the drive isnt appearing in my
Devices and Drives
RoryP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-04-2015, 05:58 AM   #4
Windows Tech Team
Networking Team |Tech
 
alpenadiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NorthEast, Michigan
Posts: 2,253
OS: Windows 10 Pro, Linux, Windows 7 Pro. Work systems - W2K, XP, Win7, RHEL, Solaris.

My System


Right click on the WD Green in device manager, then assign it a drive letter.
__________________





CompTIA - A+, Security+
"There are two types of hard drives. A drive that has failed, and one that will.
alpenadiver is offline  
Old 07-04-2015, 11:05 AM   #5
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,480
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


What's on the WD Green drive? Might want to rather do a format of the drive and allow Windows to allocate the entire drive, rather than having two partitions.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 07-04-2015, 11:39 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 8.1



i got it working and downloaded all my games but theyre only running on 1-15 FPS on my R9 390 :/
RoryP is offline  
Old 07-04-2015, 01:28 PM   #7
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,480
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


You got what working? The driver or the HDD?

Still sounds like the driver isn't installing correctly.

Use this here to remove all video drivers and then reinstall them:

Display Driver Uninstaller Download version 15.3.0.3
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 07-04-2015, 01:57 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 8.1



HDD
I fixed the resolution the driver seems to be working.
GPU-Z is detecting my gpu but it saying my GPU clock is 0MHz and its name is Microsoft Basic Display Adapter even thought its got 8gb of vram and 512bit bus
Gyazo - e839fe1ea558c72202a64c98563ac9c8.png
RoryP is offline  
Old 07-04-2015, 01:58 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 8.1



hardware monitor doesnt detect a GPU either
RoryP is offline  
Old 07-04-2015, 07:06 PM   #10
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,480
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Then use DDU as I mentioned above and run the program. This will force a Microsoft reinstall of the basic driver and give you a clean slate to install the AMD one.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 07-05-2015, 04:06 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 8.1



When I try and install any driver it fails and MSI Kombustor says I have an R9 290 and Afterburner is saying this Gyazo - 158c651ec46aab2e7e03b2be7a88d219.png
RoryP is offline  
Old 07-05-2015, 10:02 AM   #12
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,480
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


I don't think you're understanding me.

I need you to use the DDU software that is linked below this post. Once ran, it will ask to be booted into Safe Mode. Once in Safe Mode, select AMD and run the program. This will uninstall all AMD folders, files, and software, giving you a clean slate.

Then go ahead and attempt to install AMD CCC and then the driver.

Display Driver Uninstaller Download version 15.3.0.3
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 07-05-2015, 10:15 AM   #13
Troubled
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 267
OS: Windows 7



Your MSI motherboard isn't seeing the card correctly you have two ongoing threads about this though in the other thread you are mentioning overclocking your FX 8320. Reading your GPU Z it's clear to me. Looks like you might need a bios update ask MSI about that particular card you have. Notice the generic MS GPU and not listening it as 16x 2.0 with a question mark. That's likely your answer there. After following the above advice I would get into your MSI bios and switch gen mode for your GPU.

Go to advanced/PCI Susbsystems/Settings. You can manually toggle between gen modes there. See if that helps you. Try Gen 2 this might allow the card to work properly.
BowHunter41 is offline  
Old 07-05-2015, 10:19 AM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


Using GPU-z, hit the submit icon once, that is all that is required for Wizz the author of that software over at TechPowerUp to obtain all necessary info to update his software to show correct readings.
Panther063 is offline  
Old 07-05-2015, 10:23 AM   #15
Troubled
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 267
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Panther063 View Post
Using GPU-z, hit the submit icon once, that is all that is required for Wizz the author of that software over at TechPowerUp to obtain all necessary info to update his software to show correct readings.

It's not the software it's a hardware issue. Since it's a new iteration of the R9 card R9 290/R9 390 , and his MSI board is likely on auto gen (I know this) sometimes with a new card you have to manually toggle a different gen mode for the PCIe card to function properly and be recognized properly. IE run the card in gen 2 mode. Just a guess.
BowHunter41 is offline  
Old 07-05-2015, 10:30 AM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by BowHunter41 View Post
It's not the software it's a hardware issue. Since it's a new iteration of the R9 card R9 290/R9 390 , and his MSI board is likely on auto gen (I know this) sometimes with a new card you have to manually toggle a different gen mode for the PCIe card to function properly and be recognized properly. IE run the card in gen 2 mode. Just a guess.
Thanks for trying to correct me, although It wasn't warranted, I did not say it was a software issue.
New cards hit the market and the only way they can be added to the data base to obtain the correct info is if people submit them. Although I think you are not entirely correct, you are entitled to your opinion.
Panther063 is offline  
Old 07-05-2015, 10:33 AM   #17
Troubled
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 267
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Panther063 View Post
Thanks for trying to correct me, although It wasn't warranted, I did not say it was a software issue.
New cards hit the market and the only way they can be added to the data base to obtain the correct info is if people submit them. Although I think you are not entirely correct, you are entitled to your opinion.
In my hands the card and the motherboard would be working within about 1 minute. Nearly guaranteed. I don't know if you would consider that correct. I wasn't sure why you were worried about the software database being updated for the new GPU. Color me confused.
BowHunter41 is offline  
Old 07-05-2015, 10:32 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Orttimus Prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Midwest
Posts: 30
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to Orttimus Prime

If your motherboard is new, it is likely that the BIOS needs to be flashed to a new version. MSI, I know from personal experience, has these problems with their new boards and their early BIOS. That will probably solve your power issues as far as it staying on after shutdown and whatnot. Do that if it's necessary and then reinstall the graphics card driver and any software for it. It seems like that's the simple fix. If that doesn't resolve it, you may be having power issues. Either the card is pulling too much or your PSU isn't putting out enough. Your card is rated for 275 W at max pull, so you should be fine unless it's malfunctioning and pulling too much or your PSU isn't putting out enough. Check your running voltages to make sure everything is being powered correctly. If you take my first mentioned steps into consideration, I hope they help!
Orttimus Prime is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts