Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software

User Tag List

Question about checking all types of diods

This is a discussion on Question about checking all types of diods within the Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi there, my main multimeter has a problems and now i am with one very basic - dt-838. I now


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-19-2015, 05:29 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Kp5pzfLqDUyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 48
OS: MultiOS user



Hi there, my main multimeter has a problems and now i am with one very basic - dt-838. I now am checking diods and in one position it shows 1, in the other - shows some numbers. This is voltage i guess in mili. Am i right?
Should the value be beside voltage x and voltage y and what are they or if the multimeter is not beeping the diod is good. i hope my post to be easy to understand. English is not my native language.

Thanks and have a nice day.
Kp5pzfLqDUyy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-19-2015, 05:37 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: SE Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 14
OS: Win XP, 7, and 10



The diode should show high resistance in one direction and low resistance in the other direction.

If your multimeter has a diode setting, it should be infinate resistance in one direction and probably around .6 in the other direction.

On you multimeter, is that 1 followed by ---? That might be the way it reads high resistance. Then the numbers are probably a measurement in ohm that the meter can register.
TonyDi is offline  
Old 11-19-2015, 06:17 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Kp5pzfLqDUyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 48
OS: MultiOS user



no. there is no ---.

i have desoldered some elements from computer psu and want to sort everything here - working and the other to go to recycle bin.

for example :
sr360 - 147 and in other direction only "1"
2a05 - "1" and "521"
one other - 530 and 1
Kp5pzfLqDUyy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-19-2015, 09:37 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: SE Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 14
OS: Win XP, 7, and 10



OK - I found your meter on-line. It does have a diode check function. It's near the bottom of the dial, a bit to the right. It looks like an arrow pointing right and has a speaker symbol on it. Is this the function you're using to test the diodes?
TonyDi is offline  
Old 11-19-2015, 12:40 PM   #5
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,191
OS: win 10 Home



Manual which should help https://www.farnell.com/datasheets/1932884.pdf
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My folders in my memory card changed to FILE types
How to back My folders have changed to file types look the Image and Video clips changed to FILE type but my other folder like songs folder and movies folder are still working https://i49.tinypic.com/14u8ggg.jpg Hi guys i have this problem.. 2 of my folder in my memory card in my cell phone...
asiong Windows XP Support 9 06-03-2013 12:48 PM
[SOLVED] Ubuntu 11.10 Insufficient Permission
I'm an admin on my pc, and I have never had any issues installing programs on my laptop. At the very end of a 45-min installation process of Ubuntu 11.10 (i'm interested in seeing what the hypes about), I get an error message stating, "...I have insufficient Permissions..." and closes out of the...
scalh001 Linux Support 14 12-26-2011 08:58 AM
System.IO.FileLoadException error?
Hi, a few months ago I tried to play a game (fifa) 12 and it ran just fine, but when I couldn't change the graphics options. it would launch another window and I would get a similar error to this: See the end of this message for details on invoking just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead...
ARustyFirePlace Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 4 11-25-2011 06:32 AM
[SOLVED] Directx 9 issue
Hello My computer has always been running fine, but now days there is something huge wrong with the direct X. I've notice I can't run anything 3d/animated like any games. So I thought maybe itís my drivers of my graphics card. Alas it was not. When I try to run Dxdiag I get an error message:...
Woesman Windows XP Support 10 11-16-2011 02:28 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts