Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software

User Tag List

network admin organizing tool

This is a discussion on network admin organizing tool within the Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I am a network administrator for around 40 small business clients with office from 5 to 100 clients. This


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-18-2015, 02:24 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9
OS: windows 8.1 pro



Hello,
I am a network administrator for around 40 small business clients with office from 5 to 100 clients.
This means I have a lot of data like
domain names/wan ip /lan range/gateway address/dhcp address/dns address/server address/users/passwords/email addresses/ip addresses/software subscription info/etc...
currently all this data is in an excel sheet..
Anyone knows a good tool to collect/manage/search data like this?

thanks
bashr
bashr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-18-2015, 03:37 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Hi and Welcome to TSF!

Are you looking for a paid system to be constantly managing and updating?

If so, Cisco is going to be the best for Network Management:

Cloud and Systems Management - Overview - Cisco
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-18-2015, 11:07 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9
OS: windows 8.1 pro



hi, to be honest, i prefer free:)
And if possible open source.

It doesnt have to be very complicated.
I want to be able to make 'objects' like users, computers, servers
each of these objects I want to link to records that contain data like windows password, mail passwords, license keys, ip address, ...
This combined with a good search off course..

Not sure if it exists

thanks
bashr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-19-2015, 10:54 AM   #4
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


A popular free one is this here:

Welcome to The Apache Software Foundation!
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-19-2015, 12:20 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9
OS: windows 8.1 pro



hi, not sure if I understand you correct?
Isn't apache a webserver?
Or do you mean I should build something myself on apache webserver:)?

thanks
bashr is offline  
Old 05-19-2015, 12:30 PM   #6
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


You could have a webserver that then collects data, but for the amount of work it would take, you would be better off buying a paid solution.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 05-20-2015, 02:32 AM   #7
Windows Tech Team
Networking Team |Tech
 
alpenadiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NorthEast, Michigan
Posts: 2,253
OS: Windows 10 Pro, Linux, Windows 7 Pro. Work systems - W2K, XP, Win7, RHEL, Solaris.

My System


What about using MS Access, or Open Office Base.
__________________





CompTIA - A+, Security+
"There are two types of hard drives. A drive that has failed, and one that will.
alpenadiver is offline  
Old 05-20-2015, 06:25 PM   #8
Moderator
- Design Team
- Networking Team
 
Fjandr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,483
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1, Debian, CentOS

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by bashr View Post
Isn't apache a webserver?
Yes and no. The Apache Software Foundation supports hundreds of open source projects. It just happens to be named after the most famous and widely used of those projects: the Apache HTTP server.
__________________

Fjandr is offline  
Old 05-20-2015, 10:40 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9
OS: windows 8.1 pro



thanks for all suggestions.
maybe a small open office base tool will be the best option.
Online webserver would be more nice but sometimes I dont have internet access on site.
I could offcourse also build a small app for my phone.
And yes I could buy something but those things will be overkill for what I want.
mm..have to think about it...
bashr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] My pc got slow !!!
Good day everybody. My pc is getting sometimes running slow, sometimes startup and running normal. I believe I have something wrong here and need help to get it back normal. Here is pc spec. :
sinan Windows 8, 8.1 Support 13 12-04-2014 05:31 PM
[SOLVED] Wireless Network wont work
Hi I have a old laptop (fujitsu Amilo m1451g) running on just newly reinstalled win xp home edition. I thought I had successfully installed all relevant drivers including intel R pro/wireless 2915abg network connection adaptor. I am getting available wireless connections in my area including my...
tsteele2005 Windows XP Support 6 11-23-2013 09:47 AM
Career Path (Sys Admin, Network Eng?)
I am looking for advice about career progression and what to go into (Syst Admin, Network Engineer?). I have a BSc in Computer Science. I previously spent one year working on a Helpdesk as a Second Line Engineer for a medium sized company supporting over 5000 users. My general tasks...
SimonPeg Certification & Career 1 09-19-2013 08:30 AM
no audio after installing XP Pro SP3 to IBM T60
Sound worked fine before installing XP Pro SP3......after instal, no audio. No audio after installing XP Pro SP3 (from disc) on an IBM/Lenovo T60 ThinkPad. IBM/Lenovo drivers from Lenovo Support site for "Audio Device on High Definition Audio Bus" are not recognized when trying to install...
Ray G Windows XP Support 19 11-20-2012 07:15 AM
3TB HDD won't format
I recently bought a 3TB 5400RPM hard drive and placed it in an enclosure. I orginially had connected it to my PC via USB 2.0 and formatted the entire drive and everything seemed to be in working order. After that I decided to connect the drive via eSATA because of the speed increase. When...
UhOhOhNo Hard Drive Support 8 09-13-2011 08:22 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts