Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software

User Tag List

Kaspersky Rescue Disk 10 vs UEFI boot

This is a discussion on Kaspersky Rescue Disk 10 vs UEFI boot within the Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've this battle before but now I'm trying it on my newer Dell Precision 7710 laptop running Win7 Pro x64


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-16-2016, 08:32 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,024
OS: Win 7 Pro



I've this battle before but now I'm trying it on my newer Dell Precision 7710 laptop running Win7 Pro x64

It has a UEFI boot that is run unsecured. I'd like be able to use the Kaspersky Rescue disk if the need arises.

So far I've tried a few way to get it to boot and the GRUB program eventually fails.

Pressing F12 and choosing USB boot will start the program from my bootable USB drive. I go thought the choices, the program loads but it can't seem to mount my drive and fails. I am running an M.2 PCIe 256GB SSD.

I went into the BIOS and changed over to legacy boot and went though the same procedure and the same thing happens and it fails.

This is the same problem I had with my sons Win7 laptop and my other sons Win8.1 laptop.

Is it not compatible?
Leo G is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-17-2016, 06:11 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,024
OS: Win 7 Pro



Here is the error list. The computer locks up on this screen and needs to be powered down to reboot.

Leo G is offline  
Old 05-19-2016, 05:09 AM   #3
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,821
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


There are other tools available.

Aside from that, how about their support pages: UEFI-based computer won’t boot from hard disk after booting Kaspersky Rescue Disk in Legacy mode
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-19-2016, 05:24 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,024
OS: Win 7 Pro



That seems to be a different problem then what I'm having.
Leo G is offline  
Old 05-20-2016, 05:37 AM   #5
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,821
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


That was the first one that caught my eye based on your description, and it's not the only topic on the help page.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cloned hard disk won't boot
Hi, My Samsung hard disk with windows 2003 server installed on it seems like to quit life soon. I don't have RAID. I start the windows 2003 server just from this hard disk. The hard disk has 2 partitions. First comes C: with the user profiles with 80GB, then comes F: with windows operating...
ilvie Hard Drive Support 1 10-15-2014 05:58 PM
Can't restart/shut down
Setup: Win 7 home premium 64-bit laptop, i7 3610qm nvidia geforce gtx 660m When i try to restart or shut down via start menu nothing happens. If i then click on the taskbar explorer crashes, when restarted a new one opens but the old one is still visible on the screen though i cannot interact...
jakeed Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 35 04-09-2014 10:24 AM
[SOLVED] the boot selection failed because a required disk is inaccessible
I have a weird error that I have never seen before. I recently reformatted my media server. Current boot drives are 2 64gb OCZ vertex 2 SSDs in Raid 0. When I reformatted it had some odd behavior where it would boot only if a windows boot USB was in the drive. I thought this was odd and figured I...
sirged Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 1 10-04-2013 08:54 PM
Windows Vista Disk Boot Not Working
So I've been increasingly getting frustrated with this little problem and I can't seem to find any solutions online. The problem is that my boot disk will not boot or even be read by my computer. I have a Gateway GT5658E Desktop and the drive is an Optiarc DVD RW AD-7173A. I've set the BIOS to boot...
DZiner Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 10 12-10-2011 06:38 AM
DISK BOOT FAILURE INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER
Hi :wave:, I have a problem with my computer(desktop) for few months. On boot to my operating system(XP) i'm getting the error message "DISK BOOT FAILURE INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER" message :upset:. I can't boot to my desktop. Steps tried:
ilavarasan Motherboards, Bios & CPU 3 07-21-2011 05:12 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts