Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software

User Tag List

Does it really help???

This is a discussion on Does it really help??? within the Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Iv'e been using Advanced System Care "The free version" and Glary Utitlities 5 "also free version" for a few months


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-26-2016, 06:57 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Tdoggy187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 253
OS: Windows 7


Pin

Iv'e been using Advanced System Care "The free version" and Glary Utitlities 5 "also free version" for a few months now. And I'm wondering do they really help my computers? What are good programs that really help keep your computer clean and update "the main reason I use Glary Utilities"drivers and such. Thank You for reading and i'm very interested in hearing your responses.

Sincerely Tdog


Tdoggy187 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-27-2016, 05:41 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,059
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


They do just the opposite. Registry Cleaners aren't needed and I've seen them cause unnecessary problems up to and including the need to reinstall Windows.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 06-27-2016, 05:47 AM   #3
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,480
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


No they are not good programs and some can even be spam.

Advanced System Care can actually harm your PC as registry cleaners can create many Windows problems.

I recommend you remove both of those programs.

If you want a good PC cleaner, then use CCleaner (but do not use its registry cleaner).

If you want a good driver updater, do it yourself. Drivers only come out once every three or so months for motherboard/CPU and about once a month for the GPU.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-27-2016, 05:06 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Tdoggy187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 253
OS: Windows 7



I was afraid you guys would say that. Thank God I haven't used the Registry cleaner on any of my computers. I will get rid of them. I had them running on my old Dell Dimensions just playing around. Those computers still have Windows XP. They can't handle an upgrade to Windows 7 unfortunately. They are becoming Computers of the past ;-( I see Google Chrome won't do anymore updates on Windows XP anymore ;-(
Tdoggy187 is offline  
Old 06-28-2016, 05:48 AM   #5
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,480
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


XP is an old operating system. If you have a PC that is still running it, it's time to retire that machine.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 06-28-2016, 06:39 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 911
OS: Win 7 HP 64B SP1



I still like XP and have it on at least one machine, though it isn't used very often. Someday maybe. Not today.


I've run into problems with utilities too, System Mechanic was one. Fix-It Utilities was another as I recall. I avoid them now.

Also be careful when searching for drivers if you need them. I've run into a few questionable sites that claim to be legit. Funky things happened.
Confounded Also is offline  
Old 06-28-2016, 06:17 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Tdoggy187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 253
OS: Windows 7



Thanks for the advice ;-) I refuse to retire my Dell Dimensions with Windows Xp! ;-)
I'll run them to they kill themselves ;-)

Tdoggy187 is offline  
Old 06-28-2016, 06:35 PM   #8
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,480
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


You risk your internet safely as well as your network.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 06-29-2016, 08:32 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Tdoggy187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 253
OS: Windows 7



Yeah I was reading about that. They "2" Dell Dimensions have both become Gaming machines. For a game called Evony that I use a botting program for. That is all they do really. Oh and I just brought back to life my HP Pavilon a1710N. Which also has Windows XP. I got 4 sticks of 512MB Ram in it. It says it has a total of 1.87 GB of Ram. it also says it has a AMD Athlon (tm) 64X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+2.20 GHZ. It has a 186 GB hard drive as well. I just ran Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor on it and it looks compatible. A few outdated programs of course. I wonder if it could handle Windows 10? It maxes out at 4MB of memory. So I'd have to do that. What do you guys think?
Tdoggy187 is offline  
Old 06-29-2016, 09:28 AM   #10
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,215
OS: win 10 Home



I would leave it at win 7 as the hardware may not have drivers which will work well with win 10 or win 8.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 06-29-2016, 05:46 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Tdoggy187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 253
OS: Windows 7



Oh it doesn't have Windows 7 yet. It still has Windows XP. I'm thinking about upgrading it to Windows 7. Is that processor any good? The AMD Athlon (tm) 64X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+2.20 GHZ???? I'm wondering if dishing out the cash for Windows 7 and more ram "It maxes out at 4 MB of ram" is going to be worth it with this machine. It is an HP Pavilon a1710N. What do you think????

It has 1.87 GB of ram now. I have 4 sticks of 512 mb of ram in 4 slots right now.


Tdoggy187 is offline  
Old 06-29-2016, 11:55 PM   #12
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,215
OS: win 10 Home



I would not spend on it.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 06-30-2016, 04:47 AM   #13
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,821
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


I'm sure you meant 4GB and not 4MB. In any case, it's hard to justify spending cash on an aging computer with a limited life. But, if the PC(s) is connected to the internet, it may be worth it just for the security.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 06-30-2016, 08:07 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Tdoggy187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 253
OS: Windows 7



Yeah I'm not sure what to do. Iv'e always wanted to build a computer. But I'm afraid I'd screw it up. So buying is probably a little more realistic. Does anyone know how much a cheap build would cost? The one thing I would like is at least 16 GB of ram "memory" that could be upgrade able in the future. Although 16 GB of ram will probably be more then I ever need. Quad core would be nice. And at least a 500 GB hard drive. Although I'd love to have a 1TB Hard drive. But couldn't I down the line just attach an "external" Hard drive to the computer? Graphics card I'm not to worried about. I'm not a gamer. I'm a facebook gamer of one game really. That I need to run botting accounts for. Any ideas what to do or how much?


Also the computer I'm using now is a Dell Optiplex 755 that has a duo cpu E6750 2.66 ghz with 6 GB of ram and a 297 GB hard drive. It seems to be pretty fast to me. It has 4 slots for ram. Two have 2GB of ram and the other two have 1GB of ram. So I'd have to buy to sticks of 2GB of ram to install and crucial has them for 27 a piece. And I could probably find them cheaper on Amazon or Ebay. You guys think this computer is worth the upgrade?
Tdoggy187 is offline  
Old 06-30-2016, 09:29 AM   #15
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,059
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


See: https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...-a-668661.html
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 06-30-2016, 11:40 AM   #16
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,215
OS: win 10 Home



There is plenty of info and videos on building a PC, it really is not that difficult.
Videos here build your own pc - Google Search
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 06-30-2016, 12:46 PM   #17
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
WereBo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE London, UK
Posts: 57,109
OS: Win-10 Home-Premium (64bit)

My System


Plus there's plenty of folks here who can help with any problems/uncertainties/queries
__________________






Live, Laugh, Hope - If that don't work Load, Aim and Fire....
WereBo is offline  
Old 07-01-2016, 05:18 AM   #18
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,821
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Are you even using all of your current RAM? If you aren't having any RAM related issues (ie: running low on RAM during normal activities), there is no real need to upgrade. 8GB, even for gaming machines is more than enough for the large majority of users. Most people don't use 8GB, much less need 16GB. The money is better spent elsewhere.

My point is, no matter how cheap it is, if it's not needed, it's a waste of money. Put the money aside and save it up for your next PC.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 07-02-2016, 02:43 AM   #19
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,215
OS: win 10 Home



What he Said ^^^^.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts