Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software

User Tag List

Do I need Macrium Reflect installed to restore disk image?

This is a discussion on Do I need Macrium Reflect installed to restore disk image? within the Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I made a disk image of my desktop using Macrium Reflect and I am wondering if I still need the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-07-2015, 09:14 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 22
OS: W10



I made a disk image of my desktop using Macrium Reflect and I am wondering if I still need the program installed if I want to restore the disk image. I know that the likeliness of me using Macrium again is pretty small so I would prefer to uninstall it. However, if I can't restore a disk image without it I probably should keep it on.
CC268 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-07-2015, 09:50 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,215
OS: win 10 Home



Hi, have a read here and in the links further down the page. Restoring and browsing - KnowledgeBase - Macrium Reflect Knowledgebase
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 10-07-2015, 10:09 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 22
OS: W10



I appreciate the link, although I don't see any info as to whether or not I need to keep Macrium Reflect installed or not.
CC268 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-07-2015, 10:17 AM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,215
OS: win 10 Home



This is about restoring a system image with a video included Restoring a System image from Windows - KnowledgeBase - Macrium Reflect Knowledgebase
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 10-07-2015, 10:26 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 22
OS: W10



Yea I know how to restore an image - guess my question isn't clear, but it appears that I would need Macrium installed in order to restore a disk image.
CC268 is offline  
Old 10-07-2015, 10:28 AM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,215
OS: win 10 Home



I think you need it on a disc or usb drive.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 10-07-2015, 10:32 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 22
OS: W10



For Rescue Media - yes you would...and I do have have it on a USB.
CC268 is offline  
Old 10-07-2015, 10:39 AM   #8
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,215
OS: win 10 Home



Looking at it again it would appear to be restoring from within windows, in which case it would need to stay.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 10-07-2015, 10:41 AM   #9
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,824
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System


First instruction for restoring a system image says, In the main application window, select Restore - I would assume 'application' refers to Macrium.

Then, at the end,



Hope this helps.
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with blue screen and bug check
My machine bug checked tonight, it has been freezing for a long time but finally generated a dmp file tonight, so I am happy about that. Windbg says the following, can anyone help me determine what is causing this, or translate the windbg file? System specs are at the bottom, thank you.
gte BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 27 04-18-2012 10:19 PM
Very strange PC behaviour, AVG detecting nothing
Hi there, I sure hope someone can help because i'm super lost >< Right, the problem... last night my firefox froze, I couldn't do anything but force restart my PC. The first few restart attempts were loading my desktop background but not windows. I had to shutdown completely in order to get...
Ilovelucylane Resolved HJT Threads 66 02-18-2012 02:05 PM
[SOLVED] Help...Create Bootable Vista Restore Disk...HELP
Hey, i have a Trojan on my computer and i have only one way out that i "Know" about other then bring to some other tech at a staples and pay $250! This Trojan is messing up my whole system. anyways, i dont need any help on that part. what i need help on is on " How To Create A Bootable Vista...
Shotgun4 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 7 12-29-2011 10:09 PM
error from upgradation to oel 6 from oel5_6
--> Missing Dependency: libiso9660.so.5()(64bit) is needed by package xine-lib-1.1.19-2.el5.rf.x86_64 (installed) java-1.4.2-gcj-compat-devel-1.4.2.0-40jpp.115.i386 from installed has depsolving problems --> Missing Dependency: python(abi) = 2.4 is needed by package...
csayantan Linux Support 1 02-20-2011 09:04 PM
DirectX Error [moved from Vista/7]
I've been told to run dxdiag, but when I do it says Error: Could not load dxdiagn.dll I've also downloaded DirectX End-User Runtime Web Installer. However, when I attempt to install direct x, this appears: An internal system error occured. Please refer to DXerror.log and DirectX.log in...
eiliant BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 02-07-2011 01:29 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts