Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software

User Tag List

Computer That wont Shut Off

This is a discussion on Computer That wont Shut Off within the Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey! First of all Sorry for any english mistake my native language is french. So Its been a week that


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-15-2016, 08:59 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
diablalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 10



Hey! First of all Sorry for any english mistake my native language is french.

So Its been a week that my computer wont shut off unless i press the front panel bouton myself. What happen is if press the windows ShutDown bouton it does shutdown, Screen goes black, Mouse and Keyboard shutoff, but Pumps, Fans, Leds, HDDS everything is still ''on'' and will never shutdown unless i press the bouton myself. Its a bit anoying. I'd like some help to find this problem because my computer Knowlage is not good enough to troubleshoot this by my self (and i dont even know what to google to find this...)


Thanks You! Alex.


Windows 10 Pro version 1607
Motherboard Gigabyte x99 Gaming 5
32Gb Ram (4x8)
Intel i7-5390k
diablalex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-15-2016, 10:33 PM   #2
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,149
OS: Windows 10



Let's try making some changes. Disable fast start-up as described here ttp://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/4189-fast-startup-turn-off-windows-10-a.html and see if it changes anything. If it doesn't, boot into safe mode and shutdown from there. If there's still no change, try restoring the system to a date before the onset of this behavior. If no change, boot from a live CD such as Ubuntu, then shutdown. Report back the results of these changes and tests.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 10-16-2016, 05:51 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
diablalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 10



fast start up is already disable.
System restore didnt correct the problem
and for the Live cd now i kinda have an issue, ill work on that one how to get it. because i dont have any CD reader. I guess USB would be good?
diablalex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-16-2016, 08:12 AM   #4
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,149
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by diablalex View Post
fast start up is already disable.
System restore didnt correct the problem
and for the Live cd now i kinda have an issue, ill work on that one how to get it. because i dont have any CD reader. I guess USB would be good?
Yes, a USB drive will do just fine, all you need is an iso disc image of a Linux distro like Ubuntu and burn it to the usb disk. You can use Rufus to burn the iso to usb (create bootable usb drive) from which you can run the live Linux OS.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 10-16-2016, 10:25 AM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
WereBo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE London, UK
Posts: 57,109
OS: Win-10 Home-Premium (64bit)

My System


Hi diablalex

It could be 1 of 2 things, either a BIOS-setting or a Win-10 setting needs changing.

BIOS - From the 'Power-Management' tab, check that the 'ErP' is set to consume NO power on shutdown - The manual isn't very clear as to which of the settings does what, so it might be 'trial-and-error' to find it.

Windows 10 - Right-click on the 'Start' button and select 'Power Options' from the menu, then from the next window select 'Choose what the power buttons do' from the left-hand side. The next window should show an entry for 'When I press The Power Button', it should be set to 'Shut down' so if it isn't, select that from the drop-down menu for both battery and plugged-in sections.

Finally, OK everything back to the desktop, cross your fingers and test it
__________________






Live, Laugh, Hope - If that don't work Load, Aim and Fire....
WereBo is offline  
Old 10-16-2016, 12:17 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
diablalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 10



Alright.
ErP was already disabled
And Win10 setting are also correct for Shutdown.


Kinda lost ...
diablalex is offline  
Old 10-17-2016, 06:42 AM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
WereBo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE London, UK
Posts: 57,109
OS: Win-10 Home-Premium (64bit)

My System


Aaah OK, 'twas just a possibility - Have you tried Stancestans suggestion with a live Linux distro above?
__________________






Live, Laugh, Hope - If that don't work Load, Aim and Fire....
WereBo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Bench Test, Build, and Troubleshoot Your Computer
How to Bench Test, Build, and Troubleshoot Your Computer The following is an in-depth guide detailing the process that clearly outlines the process of bench testing building, and troubleshooting your computer. All three sections of this guide will take a considerable amount of time to complete....
Masterchiefxx17 Building 0 11-13-2014 10:58 AM
[SOLVED] help!!!! guy gone crazy with bluscreans!!!:@:@
i have an intel dh55hc motherboard in my pc i built my pc during summertime and at that time i got the patriot ram ... the whole stock had problems .. (they work with onestick bt the pc wont boot with 2 sticks) so i had a stick of 2gigs of that ram .. then i upgraded it with a kingston ram ..and...
avok95 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 21 11-17-2013 06:14 AM
computer shut down/ now vista won't start
I am operating an Acer vista laptop. I normally use firefox but on occasion use IE when certain sites aren't compatible with firefox. Several months ago my computer started to turn off for no reason. Then it stopped and I didn't worry about it anymore. Well it dstarte doing it again. I would...
dnvllamas08 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 0 10-21-2012 12:51 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts