Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software

User Tag List

Cloning HDD to SSD not working

This is a discussion on Cloning HDD to SSD not working within the Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am trying to clone a WD 320GB HDD (with windows 10 installed on it) to a SanDisk 256GB SSD.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-07-2015, 08:54 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 181
OS: Windows 10 Pro



I am trying to clone a WD 320GB HDD (with windows 10 installed on it) to a SanDisk 256GB SSD. I have tried using easeus todo backup cloning option but that does not work because it says that the HDD has bad sectors (the OS is currently running without a problem even with the bad sectors). I then tried using Acronis True image recovery drive to perform the cloning. I once again get error messages regarding the bad sectors. However, I am able to complete the cloning from the HDD to the SSD. I disconnected the HDD and connected the SSD and attempted to boot. Windows never boots up. After the bios loads and it attempts to boot from the SSD all I see is a black screen with a blinking cursor on it. I then tried using a windows 10 recovery disk to repair the start up but that does not help (I see the black screen with a blinking cursor again). I then thought about booting into safe mode to see if the problem is that the windows is not loading the drivers for the SSD. However, the windows 10 recovery disk does not have the "Startup settings" option which would allow me to boot into safe mode.

I have read that clonezilla is a good option to use when you are cloning from a HDD that has bad sector but the problem is that the HDD and the SSD are not the same size which I have read is a problem when the target disk is smaller.

I also know that there are 5 bad sectors on the HDD because I checked it by using the disk utility option under the a try ubuntu usb stick I have.

Does anyone know how I can fix this problem? So far the OS on the HDD is running fine but I do not know how much longer that is going to last. I am very worried because this is my father's computer which he uses it to run his small business. If it goes down then it is a HUGE problem. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.
godfather17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-08-2015, 10:11 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 181
OS: Windows 10 Pro


Fixed. Please see the following link:https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/.../#entry5717118
godfather17 is offline  
Old 08-08-2015, 10:50 AM   #3
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,480
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Glad to hear! Thanks for sharing!
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cloning SSD to SSD via usb on pc, first timer
Hi. I recently bought a Samsung 840 EVO 250GB. Windows 7 64Bit is installed on it. The mb is an Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark II with USB 3.0. Everything's running solid. I want a back it up just in case it dies so as to have continuity. So I bought Samsung 840 EVO 120GB. I don't want the newly...
Caslon Hard Drive Support 8 10-11-2014 06:35 PM
[SOLVED] Upgrading from HDD to SSD on DV6 6050se
Hello Guys, I am looking to upgrade my laptop from HDD to SSD. I have already upgraded the operating system to Windows 8 Pro and the Ram to 8GB. Now these specs sheet on HP website leave out two important things that I wanted to know for my upgrade. 1) Will I be able to connect the...
wazzi Hard Drive Support 4 03-29-2013 11:43 AM
Cloning Windows 8 From HDD to SSD
A lot of people have been wrestling with this issue online. I have had mixed results so far with Easeus Todo Backup. (windows boots but could not reset) Now trying to use Acronis True Image 2013 Not sure if it makes a difference whether 'secure boot' is enabled in bios or not. Yes,...
hamishgillan Hard Drive Support 4 03-06-2013 03:00 PM
40Gb HDD to 80Gb HDD Cloning
I have a 40Gb HDD with data. Now I want to Clone entire data to another HDD of 80Gb. I have cloned, but the problem is that, I am not able to use total 80Gb of HDD space.:upset:
kpsanal Hard Drive Support 1 05-24-2011 04:25 AM
External HDD stopped working
Hello, When I started my laptop yesterday and wanted to listen to some music, which is stored on my external HDD, it asked me to reformat the HDD. I didn't want to reformat the HDD so I went looking around google for a few hours and tried out all the solutions I could find. I first saw...
unknown666 Hard Drive Support 4 01-25-2011 11:29 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts