Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software

User Tag List

CD-DVD R/RW Error Message

This is a discussion on CD-DVD R/RW Error Message within the Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm using a Dell Inspiron desktop running W-10 Home (has latest updates). I am trying to Copy (not move) sime


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-24-2020, 09:52 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Riverhead, N.Y. USA.
Posts: 15
OS: Windows 10 Home



I'm using a Dell Inspiron desktop running W-10 Home (has latest updates). I am trying to Copy (not move) sime images from my HDD to a writable, blank CD and keep getting this error message,


"Windows can't read the disc in drive E:\. Make sure that the disc uses a format that Windows recognizes. If the disc is unformatted, you need to format it before using it".


Never had this issue before. Was always able to write direct to the CD media.
Attached Images
 
Timh1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-24-2020, 10:18 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,678
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


See if Quick Format works.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 10:21 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Riverhead, N.Y. USA.
Posts: 15
OS: Windows 10 Home



Quote:
Originally Posted by Corday View Post
See if Quick Format works.

Not sure how to do that. I tried 3 different CD I always use (Verbatim) with no success.
Timh1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-24-2020, 11:27 AM   #4
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4,929
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Timh1111 View Post
Not sure how to do that. I tried 3 different CD I always use (Verbatim) with no success.
Does Windows recognise those CDs as blank?
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 11:29 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Riverhead, N.Y. USA.
Posts: 15
OS: Windows 10 Home



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
Does Windows recognise those CDs as blank?

In "Properties", it see's it and shows 0 bytes.
Timh1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 11:32 AM   #6
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4,929
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Timh1111 View Post
In "Properties", it see's it and shows 0 bytes.
0 bytes for both used and free?
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 11:36 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Riverhead, N.Y. USA.
Posts: 15
OS: Windows 10 Home



Yep...see attachment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CD_Error2.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	60.8 KB
ID:	325232  
Timh1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 11:49 AM   #8
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4,929
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Timh1111 View Post
Yep...see attachment.
That's not right. It should show 0 bytes used and ~700MB free, for a writable bank cd.
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 11:55 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Riverhead, N.Y. USA.
Posts: 15
OS: Windows 10 Home



Yeah...your right! Tried a CD & a DVD and the properties for both say 0 Free, 0 Used. What the hell....?
Timh1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 06:38 AM   #10
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,809
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Two thoughts:

First, are you referring to CD-R or CD-RW media?

Second, have you tested a DVD disc?
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 05:09 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Riverhead, N.Y. USA.
Posts: 15
OS: Windows 10 Home



I tried some of the ideas posted. I uninstalled the drivers, restarted the PC and it reinstalled the drivers on reboot. Still same issue. I put a CD in that had image media on it already. It read the media and showed the files. I put in a blank disc (tried a few) and still shows "0% used, 0% free space available". Guess the only option is a new drive. As posted, relatively cheap, quick priced at $27 - $40 USD.
Timh1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 06:11 AM   #12
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,809
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


If it can read CD media but not DVD media, then yes, the drive is faulty.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 07:20 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Riverhead, N.Y. USA.
Posts: 15
OS: Windows 10 Home



Quote:
Originally Posted by JimE View Post
If it can read CD media but not DVD media, then yes, the drive is faulty.



Ok, so I went out and bought an "LG-24x Super Multi DVD Writer" and am STILL getting the same "0% bytes used, 0% Bytes free" message on blank media both DVD & CD. It did run the CD install disc it came with but gives the same message when I try to write to a disc!
Timh1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 07:59 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Riverhead, N.Y. USA.
Posts: 15
OS: Windows 10 Home



OK...here's ANOTHER strange thing! I was able to copy(burn) the images to a CD-R/W using "RealPlayer-PLUS". I made 2 burns using RP+. I went back to trying to "COPY" the files to my burner (opened the folder) and the same error message appeared again. I used the same blank media for burning and testing. So I can burn files to the new CD/DVD writer using RealPlayer-PLUS but not from within windows using the copy command!
Timh1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 05:54 PM   #15
Game Team Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: warwickshire, UK
Posts: 930
OS: windows 10 Pro 64bit



you can't copy move an image file to cd/dvd as they are not readable until they are burnt to disk using an disk burning software.

I use img burn to burn create images to disk.

https://www.imgburn.com/index.php?act=download

You can use Power iso to mount images files to a virtual cd/dvd drive which you can use to install run from the hard drive no need to burn to disk.
__________________
steve32mids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2020, 02:41 AM   #16
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4,929
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by steve32mids View Post
you can't copy move an image file to cd/dvd as they are not readable until they are burnt to disk using an disk burning software.

I use img burn to burn create images to disk.

https://www.imgburn.com/index.php?act=download

You can use Power iso to mount images files to a virtual cd/dvd drive which you can use to install run from the hard drive no need to burn to disk.
I believe the images talked about here are pictures, e.g jpeg files, not disc images like iso. Also, Windows 10 has inbuilt support for mounting disc images like iso and img, so no need to install Power iso or similar virtual cd drive software to mount disc images.


@Timh1111, since you could burn using RealPlayer, I strongly suggest you use other cd burning software instead of Windows 10's inbuilt burner. I don't know what has changed that made it stop working the way it previously did. The only thing I can think of is upper and lower filters in the registry, probably installed by third-party burning software. Do you know if there are any other burning software installed on your system, besides RealPlayer? The CD that came with your new LG writer probably came with a promotional copy of a commercial CD burning software. If you ran that setup, then you just installed it. See if it works for your use case. If you must use Windows inbuilt burning capability, then you may have to reinstall Windows. If you're not on Windows 10 version 1909 yet, this is a good time to upgrade. The upgrade process just might fix whatever is broken.

Let's see if there are any filters in the registry for the CDROM class. Open Command Prompt then copy and paste the following code in it and press Enter to execute it.

Code:
reg query "HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4d36e965-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}" >0 & notepad 0
A notepad window will open. Select everything in it and copy-paste it into your next reply.

A great (and free) cd burning software is CDBurnerXP. Try it out and see.
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts