Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Email

User Tag List

Corrupted OE6 DBX files (some, but not all)

This is a discussion on Corrupted OE6 DBX files (some, but not all) within the Email forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I would rate the difficulty of this problem as Extraordinarly High. -- Some of my Outlook Express 6 DXB stores/folders

Closed Thread

Old 10-07-2018, 12:21 PM   #1
Registered Member

I would rate the difficulty of this problem as Extraordinarly High. -- Some of my Outlook Express 6 DXB stores/folders are populated but act corrupted. I will give some background, but what I really need help with is recovering these corupted DBX's. ...

Backgound: I am an expert user running W2K Pro om a P4 2.66 Mhz Netvista. I was using Partition Magic 6 to increase the size of the partition on the Maxtor USB Hdd where the OE Message Store is kept. (I've used PM 6 many times with no problems.) I received an "Error 625" message from Partition Magic, telling me PM was seeing the drive differently from how Windows saw it. PM said the error was recoverable and then proceeded to fix Index errors for 30 mins. or so. After than, Windows saw a conflict in the size of that logical drive/partition (on USB Hdd), but aside from reporting two different sizes (depending on where I looked) it didn't misbehave in any way.

Oddly and luckily, the other 50 gigs of photos, applications and documents on the partition that I tried to expand survived intact. But when I rebooted and opened OE, many OE folders were empty -- even those where the associated DBX file showed appropriately large file sizes. A number of Folders and DBX files worked perfectly, though.